The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
Years ago, someone on this board stated it like this.

If F3 has the ball, falls, and her pony tail is resting on the base, the runner
is out.
I would LOVE to call that
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
I would LOVE to call that
So would I, especially since I mostly call men's games! We've got a few mullets around here.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
And as for the second question in the OP, the wording is "a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball." It can be a foot, hand, knee, or even if s/he sits on it.

And yes, I've seen the latter.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 06:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
So would I, especially since I mostly call men's games! We've got a few mullets around here.

Hey, it's been close to 30-something years,BUT, I used to have one of those pony tails - it got to about 2/3rd's of the way to my waist.

Funny thing now - whenever my hair begins to touch my ears, I can't wait to get to a barber shop.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 07:53pm
GrumpUmp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Since at least 1984 until the 2007 rule book this was in the Definitions section under Force Out. I suppose it was moved because it makes more sense for it to be where it is now. I've never had to call it and I've never seen it called. As far as I can determine ASA is the only organization that has this rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpUmp
Since at least 1984 until the 2007 rule book this was in the Definitions section under Force Out. I suppose it was moved because it makes more sense for it to be where it is now. I've never had to call it and I've never seen it called. As far as I can determine ASA is the only organization that has this rule.
Well, except MLB/OBR and NFHS.

I dont know any other rule sets well enough to comment... but I'm quite sure its the same in every rule set, even the yemeni slayer of the infidel league.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Regarding force outs, kyleflan, ASA has two rules that do not always match those of other codes:

1. Once the batter/BR has been put out, all force plays are off. For example, Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, one out. Charles gets a hit down the right field line to score Abel. Baker misses 2B on his way to 3B, and Charles is thrown out at 2B trying for a double. The defense appeals Baker's miss of 2B and the umpire upholds the appeal for the third out. Ruling: The inning is over on the third out, but Abel's run counts. Baker's miss of 2B is not considered a force play, as the BR Charles was put out previously. Some other codes consider Baker's miss a force play (and nullify the run) because (a) Baker was forced when he missed 2B, or (b) he was forced to 2B when the play began.

2. Rule 8-7-C applies not only to runners, but also to the BR. If the BR reaches 1B and retreats toward home, he also reinstates the "force" and can be put out by tagging 1B. Other codes do not technically consider the out at 1B a force out, and once the BR touches 1B, he must be tagged even if he retreats toward home. (This has nothing to do with stepping backward to avoid a tag.)

wadeintothem, you're right that the YSIF also reinstates the force when the runner retreats. I'm checking to see whether they have a case play at 1B, though. (You should see the penalty for running the bases in the reverse order for the purposes of making a travesty of the game. The runner is out and . . . yow!)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2008, 10:52pm
GrumpUmp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry folks. I should have been more specific. I was not talking about force outs in general but the ASA rule about retreating back to the base a runner or BR was initially forced to after touching the succeeding base.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Well, except MLB/OBR and NFHS.

I dont know any other rule sets well enough to comment... but I'm quite sure its the same in every rule set, even the yemeni slayer of the infidel league.
I should have specified softball organizations.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2008, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpUmp
Sorry folks. I should have been more specific. I was not talking about force outs in general but the ASA rule about retreating back to the base a runner or BR was initially forced to after touching the succeeding base.

I should have specified softball organizations.
NFHS Softball Rule 2-24-4
Quote:
If a forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base she had first occupied, the force play is reinstated and she may again be put out if the defense tags the base to which she is forced.
NCAA Softball
Quote:
1.49 Force Play
A play in which the base runner loses her right to occupy a base because the batter becomes a batter-runner and before the batter-runner or a trailing runner has not yet been put out. When a forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason toward the base she last occupied, the force play is reinstated.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule clarification snow54 Basketball 5 Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am
Rule 2-10 Clarification Burtis449 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am
Rule Clarification BigToe Basketball 5 Wed Nov 16, 2005 06:21pm
rule clarification knightsfan74 Basketball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am
Rule Clarification Dennis Nicely Basketball 5 Mon Feb 19, 2001 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1