The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
This issue intrigues me as it raises the question: "Are you going to call the book literally? Or by the spirit of the law?"

R1 coming home, F2 blocks the plate, R1 slides wide, PU's arm out and says "obstruction," R1 misses plate, F2 receives ball.

Sit 1: F2 dives and tags R1; PU calls dead ball, awards R1 home on obstruction.

Sit 2: F2 looks at PU and says, "she missed the plate," then tags R1. PU honors the appeal (which is an exception to the obstruction rules), and calls R1 out.

Can anyone find a rule that supports allowing a runner free access to return to touch a base missed due to obstruction, before honoring a missed base appeal?


WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If the catcher is blocking the plate BBLover Baseball 11 Wed Jun 23, 2004 07:46pm
Standing on the blocks ref18 Basketball 1 Fri Mar 19, 2004 02:30pm
Players standing OOB Mike Burns Basketball 2 Sun Jan 11, 2004 10:49pm
Umpire Standing up nhref58 Baseball 1 Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:00am
Runner goes in standing up Porch Dog Baseball 16 Mon May 06, 2002 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1