The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
At some point a mistake must stand.

Lets play the what if game.......... What if after the supposed 1-1 pitch (actually 1-2), the defensive coaching staff starts to scratch their heads amongst themselves, but do not actually speak up until after the next pitch. And as long as we are playing "what if" - What if the batter hits a Home Run. NOW the defense comes out and says - Hey wait - the previous pitch was actually strike 3. Are you saying still strike 3 stands?
After a subsequent pitch, uncorrectable.

Quote:
Now lets go 1 further. Home run as before. A few batters later, the mistake is realized. Now what?
Same as above.

Quote:
My point is - at SOME point, the incorrect call stands. If it stands in What if #2 and What if # 3, then it should stand in the original post.
Sorry, Bubba, different scenario. In the OP, a subsequent pitch or play had not been made. And what is that thing the coaches are allowed to carry in the coach's box? Oh, an indicator. And doesn't each team have someone who keep track of the game, like a scorekeeper? Do they not have some responsibility to keep track of this info?

Quote:
Wasn't there a 5th down touchdown that stood as a game winning incorrect play.
Wrong board.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 04, 2008, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Irish:

You say "After a subsequent pitch, uncorrectable"

I agree. Ump said 1-1. No protest. Then a subsequent pitch. Now ump says 1-2. D protests that it is 1-3. Too late. The 1-1 stood and now its 1-2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 05, 2008, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Irish:

You say "After a subsequent pitch, uncorrectable"

I agree. Ump said 1-1. No protest. Then a subsequent pitch. Now ump says 1-2. D protests that it is 1-3. Too late. The 1-1 stood and now its 1-2.
No one questioned the count when given as 1-1. The "protest" came when the umpire stated the count was 1-2 when the count was actually 1-3.

Like an umpire than cannot get out of the way of a catcher moving for a pop up, this is just a DMU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speaking of correctable/non-correctable errors Rich Basketball 4 Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:53pm
Correctable "mistake"? Scrapper1 Basketball 3 Sun Dec 02, 2007 07:28pm
Big Mistake PIAA REF Basketball 27 Fri Feb 16, 2007 04:55pm
AP Mistake jdw3018 Basketball 3 Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:20am
Another ASA mistake? greymule Softball 6 Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1