The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2008, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Where I've actually seen umpires call this wrong is either

1) They do not believe the runner CAN round and stop on a walk after F1 has the ball in the circle and will call the out if she does not continue on to 2B once she rounds, or

2) As the OP stated, they will "give" the runner a couple of steps, and beyond that consider her committed to 2B without stopping. So, she will be rung up if she takes, for example, 4 steps instead of 2.

No sensible runner is going to go to within 1 inch of 2B and then return, but it is the extreme example used to teach the proper rule application.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Look Back Rule IRISHMAFIA Softball 34 Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:02pm
Look Back Rule.. THREE Softball 13 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:18am
Look Back Rule Big Kahuna Softball 2 Sun Mar 11, 2007 01:45pm
look back rule gfleischer82 Softball 17 Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:44pm
Look Back Rule ??? 3afan Softball 2 Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1