The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2008, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Look back rule question

"A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but then must immediately without stopping return to first or attempt to advance non-stop to second base."

Your opinion, please, at which point you will ring up the batter-runner:

R1 on 3b, batter-runner (base on balls) rounds first and trots slowly nonstop toward 2nd (no action by the pitcher holding the ball in the circle). Batter-runner gets tired of waiting for a throw and takes the one stop (that she has coming to her) and immediately heads nonstop back to 1st.

Is she out? Must the one stop be made right after rounding 1st, or can it be anywhere between the 2 bases?

Sorry if this is an old worn out topic...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2008, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Anywhere between the bases.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2008, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
One more thing... welcome to the board!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2008, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Are the runner and/or coaches dumb? Yes

Out? No

And welcome!
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2008, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
You've been given the correct answer, so just let me add my welcome to the board as well.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2008, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Are the runner and/or coaches dumb? Yes
Your thinking??
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2008, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Your thinking??
what?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2008, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Anywhere between the bases.
And please do noy let anyone tell you this is an overrun, the NFHS overrun rule does not apply to rounding or turning.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Look Back Rule IRISHMAFIA Softball 34 Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:02pm
Look Back Rule.. THREE Softball 13 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:18am
Look Back Rule Big Kahuna Softball 2 Sun Mar 11, 2007 01:45pm
look back rule gfleischer82 Softball 17 Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:44pm
Look Back Rule ??? 3afan Softball 2 Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1