![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I interpret it to be the spirit of the rule.. a tightening down on the protection afforded a defensive player on a deflected ball as opposed to an initial play. R1@2b grounder to F6 F6 muffs it initially, but is still within a reach of the ball and is reaching out to grab the ball and throw to retire the BR when R1 runs by, contacting the fielders arm. DB Out. This IMO, is example of Obstruction on a deflected ball and not INT... and is the difference in the wording. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NGIZ_xhePo Since I think its pretty obvious that without the contact, there was no possibility of an out. I think ASA's wording makes the call very clear whereas BB umpires debate this play a lot.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Dropped third strike | LLPA13UmpDan | Baseball | 67 | Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:42am |
| dropped 3rd strike | acoach | Baseball | 9 | Thu Jul 27, 2006 01:36pm |
| Dropped Second Strike | blueskysblue | Softball | 36 | Wed Apr 12, 2006 06:08pm |
| Dropped Third Strike | umpguy2190 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:56pm |
| Dropped 3rd Strike | rwest | Softball | 36 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:40am |