The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
No its not obstruction by an umpire, its "out/safe" by an umpire, it is not tracking the ball by an umpire, and it is definitely an error by the umpire... the defense knew the player was not out. I think the defense has to eat it, and I think the PU needs to take his due heat for his major error.

2 in a row, Wade....

Exactly right.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Players are not out because an umpire says so; players are out because a rule says they are out, and the umpire acknowledges that out. When it is clear that they are NOT out by rule, then the umpire must acknowledge they are not out, even if that means changing his call. You call someone out on a tag, then see the ball on the ground, they are safe, aren't they?

The umpire's statement that the batter is out doesn't change the obligation of the defense to actually get the out. In this case, not only did the defense err, but the defense attempted to deceive the umpire; even if it was unknowing, or even thinking the short hop is a legal catch. The ONE PERSON on the field that absolutely knew the ball wasn't caught in flight is the catcher, so she gets ZERO reliance on the alleged jeopardy resulting from the umpire having to change his call.

To the second point, if the runner from third had scored, then the runner from third scored. The third out was not made, the catcher was not put in jeopardy by the umpire, and nothing here made it a dead ball. The defense screwed up, and reaps the result.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
ASSUMING the PU did in fact verbalize that the batter was out, then this is a changed call by an umpire, and the rule book does allow the umpire to rectify the situation. But, even so, there is no way an out should be awarded, and certainly not a do over. F2 tried to pull a fast one and got hoist on her own petard. Quit being so clever next time, F2, and just tag the batter.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
The base umpire was aware of the "closed fist" signal but plate umpire never looked to base umpire for help. Knowing immediately that an error had been made, the plate umpire was not seeking help and a volatile situation was developing, was there any other action the base umpire should have taken before waiting for the plate umpire to assist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whoops (funny) ChrisSportsFan Softball 5 Tue Apr 12, 2005 01:54pm
"Timeout!".....whoops Danvrapp Basketball 4 Thu Apr 26, 2001 04:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1