The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
I've got an illegal pitch, which should have been called as soon as the hands come together again. Before the runners even get started running. There is a time between when the illegal pitch has occured and the pitch has been released.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
Okay, there may be a catch, but I haven't found it.

I don't see it as a correct call. When the pitcher faked a throw to first base, causing the runner to react, then the LBR is no longer in effect.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
page 8-50 of casebook, play 8.8-64

Ruling: No penalty. The fake throw nullifies the look back rule (8-7T).

Wished the rulers would have stated when the lbr goes back into effect on a play like this. In addition, do not remember any clinician discussing this type of play.

So, waiting for guidance and the reasoning. Then i can answer the questions
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
F1 had the ball in the circle. BR runs to 1B and continues 3 steps past 1B, then stops, then returns to 1B. Does this constitute a LBR violation by the BR?

With F1 having the ball in the circle, isn't a base runner allowed one stop then immediate advancement or retreat to the next or previous base without causing a LBR violation?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12yearblue
I've got an illegal pitch, which should have been called as soon as the hands come together again. Before the runners even get started running. There is a time between when the illegal pitch has occured and the pitch has been released.

There was no comment about the pitcher taking her place on the PP and bringing her hands to together in the OP. The pitcher simply received the ball in the circle. IP is not an option.

Okay Mike, I am with the rest of the bunch. What's the catch?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12yearblue
I've got an illegal pitch, which should have been called as soon as the hands come together again. Before the runners even get started running. There is a time between when the illegal pitch has occured and the pitch has been released.
Are you in the right thread?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Bad call by the BU. LBR will not go back into effect until the runner running home has completed her play.

The runner that has come off 1b can stand there like a lump off a log and watch the runner from 3rd. Once the runner reaches home plate then the runner between the bases has to make a decision to advance or return given that the pitcher has possession and control of the ball in the circle.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald
... LBR will not go back into effect until the runner running home has completed her play.

The runner that has come off 1b can stand there like a lump off a log and watch the runner from 3rd. Once the runner reaches home plate then the runner between the bases has to make a decision to advance or return given that the pitcher has possession and control of the ball in the circle.
This is incorrect. The actions of other runners have no effect on the LBR for any other runner.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
2nd time trying to respond to this thread.

The counterpoint I was referring to works ISF sanctioned tournaments (World Cup) and worked with Mike at the Central Atlantic Clinic.

I specifically asked her if the runner that was off first base could just stand off 1B and watch the runner run home and not be in violation of the LBR. The response was yes. The fake throw took off the LBR and now the other runner is completing a play. She made it know that the LBR is nullified with the fake throw and will not go back into effect until the runner from 3rd completes her play.

I may have mangled the description and misunderstood everything she said, but I do not think so.

If needed, I will email her the play.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald
2nd time trying to respond to this thread.

The counterpoint I was referring to works ISF sanctioned tournaments (World Cup) and worked with Mike at the Central Atlantic Clinic.

I specifically asked her if the runner that was off first base could just stand off 1B and watch the runner run home and not be in violation of the LBR. The response was yes. The fake throw took off the LBR and now the other runner is completing a play. She made it know that the LBR is nullified with the fake throw and will not go back into effect until the runner from 3rd completes her play.

I may have mangled the description and misunderstood everything she said, but I do not think so.

If needed, I will email her the play.

Ron
It probably wont be in effect until the runner completes her play... since it takes about 2 seconds to get home. But LBR going into effect has nothing to do with R1 "completing their play".

Consider this.. F1, Fake throw, R1 takes off.. then pitcher stands with possession..

R1 in DMR (dumb move runner ??) runs back and forth between 3rd and home, changing directions twice or more.. can you guess what happens?

R1 "completing their play" has nothing to do with LBR.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Sun Mar 09, 2008 at 11:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald
2nd time trying to respond to this thread.

The counterpoint I was referring to works ISF sanctioned tournaments (World Cup) and worked with Mike at the Central Atlantic Clinic.

I specifically asked her if the runner that was off first base could just stand off 1B and watch the runner run home and not be in violation of the LBR. The response was yes. The fake throw took off the LBR and now the other runner is completing a play. She made it know that the LBR is nullified with the fake throw and will not go back into effect until the runner from 3rd completes her play.

I may have mangled the description and misunderstood everything she said, but I do not think so.

If needed, I will email her the play.

Ron
If there was a play on the runner going home, that would be correct. However, if for some reason the pitchers simply stands in the circle with the ball simply ignoring the runners, there is nothing to support that contention. Of course, we all know that isn't going to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Dakota,

Sounds like I am not expressing myself clearly.

I am saying that in the OP set forth by Mike, the runner that has stopped between 1b and 2b can do so and not be in violation of the LBR cause the LBR was nullified by the fake throw and immediate play by the runner at 3rd.

That is also how I interprets Mike's answer that the BU call was incorrect.

If Mike said that the call was incorrect, that means the ump got it wrong when the ump ruled a LBR violation.

I also understand that if a runner at any base is advancing as the BR is running to 1b after receiving ball four and then the BR rounds 1st and stops like a lump on a log, then the BR will be called out for a LBR violation. That is not what Mike set forth.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
again, i may have mangled the description.

But I tried to ask specifically what Mike has posted that the "pitchers simply stands in the circle with the ball simply ignoring the runners.." Seems to be a disagreement between UICs if I have described it correctly.

Will email her.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald

I am saying that in the OP set forth by Mike, the runner that has stopped between 1b and 2b can do so and not be in violation of the LBR cause the LBR was nullified by the fake throw and immediate play by the runner at 3rd.

A play on one runner does nullify LBR for another runner.
That is why in the OP its a bad call.

No one is disputing that that I know of.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 10, 2008, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald
The counterpoint I was referring to

Ron
The first time you said this, I was wondering what in the hell you were talking about. Now I have figured out, you mean "counterpart."
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look Back Rule.. THREE Softball 13 Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:18am
Look Back Rule mrm21711 Softball 5 Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:20pm
Look Back Rule TERRY1 Softball 17 Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:26am
Look Back Rule ??? 3afan Softball 2 Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:03am
New ASA Look Back Rule Dakota Softball 17 Thu Nov 08, 2001 10:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1