The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 11:15am
Official Forum Member

Dugout Question

I am a new head coach and have a question.

We are planning on having 1-2 of our youth program girls (3rd - 7th graders) be in the dugout during each game to be the bat girls.

Is there any restriction against having anyone other than your team in the dugout? Are they allowed to go on the field to pick-up the bats?

Thanks in advance!
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 11:24am
Official Forum Member

Unless those individuals act inappropriately, there wouldn't be any reason to question their presence in the dugout.

I would require them to have a batting helmet on any time they entered the field to pick up a bat.
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 11:31am
Official Forum Member

Steve covered this one well, batting helmet when in the field of play, and no crazy activity and all is good.

I would add that this is a great idea. Especially if you can work it out on a rotational basis for several girls to get the chance this will keep the interest in the younger players to strive to develop into high school players. Let them see what they are working for and how much they need to work to develop their game!
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member

Actually, most rule sets require an underage bat/ball shagger to wear a helmet, so it really isn't up to the individual umpire.

To the OP, having kids as bat/ball shaggers is actually a pretty common practice in my area.

It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member

Also make sure that the shaggers understand when they can or cannot leave the dugout to collect bats.

Who can forget the save JT Snow made on Dusty Bakers kid in the 2002 playoffs?
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:45am
Official Forum Member

Dugout question