The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Not necessarily.

In ASA and Fed, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the interference - this move is considered interference. In NCAA, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. It is entirely possible and likely that both of your runners had obtained the advance base prior to the batter-runner stepping backward toward home - since they are likely breaking on the pitch.
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
I have. Bunt-and-run. Runner was clearly around 2B before the BR retreated. Would have been ruled differently had it been a college game.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The NCAA version of this reminds me of a play (originally an OBR discussion) I posed to my NCAA/ECAC softball group (and nobody is certain of the answer). But I'd like to propose a variation with BR stepping backward toward home:

NCAA softball:

Abel on 3B, 1 out. On a suicide squeeze, Baker bunts the ball on one hop to F1, who throws home too late to get the sliding Abel. F2 now throws to F3, who had charged the bunt and is now on the 1B line 15 feet from the bag. When F3 attempts to tag Baker, Baker retreats toward home to delay/avoid the tag.

Baker is out. But the question is, Do you now send Abel back to 3B?

Of course, under ASA and Fed rules, the run scores since the "interference" came afterward. The book rule in NCAA would be to send Abel back to 3B. However, that's also the book rule in OBR, but Abel's run does score.

Note: The original play involved the BR being called out for running lane interference. Unlike ASA (and I guess Fed), NCAA (and OBR) return runners TOP of the BR commits interference before reaching 1B.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Mon Feb 11, 2008 at 04:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gwinnett County, Georgia
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
The NCAA version of this reminds me of a play (originally an OBR discussion) I posed to my NCAA/ECAC softball group (and nobody is certain of the answer). But I'd like to propose a variation with BR stepping backward toward home:

NCAA softball:

Abel on 3B, 1 out. On a suicide squeeze, Baker bunts the ball on one hop to F1, who throws home too late to get the sliding Abel. F2 now throws to F3, who had charged the bunt and is now on the 1B line 15 feet from the bag. When F3 attempts to tag Baker, Baker retreats toward home to delay/avoid the tag.

Baker is out. But the question is, Do you now send Abel back to 3B?

Of course, under ASA and Fed rules, the run scores since the "interference" came afterward. The book rule in NCAA would be to send Abel back to 3B. However, that's also the book rule in OBR, but Abel's run does score.

Note: The original play involved the BR being called out for running lane interference. Unlike ASA (and I guess Fed), NCAA (and OBR) return runners TOP of the BR commits interference before reaching 1B.

I assume you mean Alpha and Bravo...

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
You must have had some slow runners, Scooby. With runners off with the pitch, they'd almost have to be at their next base by the time the B-R stepped back. I've seen this in ASA and in college.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter interference on stealing home rinbee Baseball 20 Thu May 19, 2005 08:39pm
Home Run....Batter Runner slaps high fives illiniwek8 Baseball 25 Fri Apr 08, 2005 09:59am
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Batter-runner steps on home plate Bluefoot Baseball 11 Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:30pm
Batter-Runner Interference after play at Home NYBAREF Baseball 3 Tue Apr 15, 2003 09:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1