The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Batter runner moves toward home

R1 on 2b, R2 on 1B, batter drops a bunt down the firstbase line. F3 comes up with and the BR then stops and backs up towards home.

PU comes up with "dead ball'. BR out, and returned the two runners back to 1b & 2B.

1. Correct for NCAA ?

2. Correct for Fed ?

3. Correct for ASA ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA, this is the correct call if F3 attempted to tag the BR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
correct in all three.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
correct in all three.
Not necessarily.

In ASA and Fed, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the interference - this move is considered interference. In NCAA, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. It is entirely possible and likely that both of your runners had obtained the advance base prior to the batter-runner stepping backward toward home - since they are likely breaking on the pitch.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 10, 2008, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
had this come up today in training. vet ump did not know the anwser
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 08:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump4all
had this come up today in training. vet ump did not know the anwser
hopefully now he/she does - we learn every day!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Not necessarily.

In ASA and Fed, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the interference - this move is considered interference. In NCAA, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. It is entirely possible and likely that both of your runners had obtained the advance base prior to the batter-runner stepping backward toward home - since they are likely breaking on the pitch.
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
I have. Bunt-and-run. Runner was clearly around 2B before the BR retreated. Would have been ruled differently had it been a college game.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.
You must have had some slow runners, Scooby. With runners off with the pitch, they'd almost have to be at their next base by the time the B-R stepped back. I've seen this in ASA and in college.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter interference on stealing home rinbee Baseball 20 Thu May 19, 2005 08:39pm
Home Run....Batter Runner slaps high fives illiniwek8 Baseball 25 Fri Apr 08, 2005 09:59am
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Batter-runner steps on home plate Bluefoot Baseball 11 Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:30pm
Batter-Runner Interference after play at Home NYBAREF Baseball 3 Tue Apr 15, 2003 09:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1