The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batter runner moves toward home (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41782-batter-runner-moves-toward-home.html)

Chess Ref Sun Feb 10, 2008 08:24pm

Batter runner moves toward home
 
R1 on 2b, R2 on 1B, batter drops a bunt down the firstbase line. F3 comes up with and the BR then stops and backs up towards home.

PU comes up with "dead ball'. BR out, and returned the two runners back to 1b & 2B.

1. Correct for NCAA ?

2. Correct for Fed ?

3. Correct for ASA ?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 10, 2008 08:43pm

Speaking ASA, this is the correct call if F3 attempted to tag the BR

Scooby Sun Feb 10, 2008 08:45pm

correct in all three.

Steve M Sun Feb 10, 2008 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby
correct in all three.

Not necessarily.

In ASA and Fed, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the interference - this move is considered interference. In NCAA, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. It is entirely possible and likely that both of your runners had obtained the advance base prior to the batter-runner stepping backward toward home - since they are likely breaking on the pitch.

ump4all Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:22pm

:( had this come up today in training. vet ump did not know the anwser

3afan Mon Feb 11, 2008 08:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ump4all
:( had this come up today in training. vet ump did not know the anwser

hopefully now he/she does - we learn every day! :D

greymule Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:15am

had this come up today in training. vet ump did not know the answer

Training under what code?

NM FP Ump Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:20am

Quick sidebar
 
I don't want to hijack this thread, but...

This is similar to a call I had in a championship game (14U) at a TCS tournament about 3 years ago; I was PU and my mentor was BU. Same situation but I had a runner on 3rd that I had to send back when the batter/runner moved toward home. I had called the BR out on her first step back. OC comes out and asks me to explain the rule, which I did. He then goes to the more experienced BU and BU comes to me for a conference (OC was livid, he's down by 1 late in the game). BU said he wasn't sure of this rule in the TCS rulebook, so we decided to go with my call. OC protests. TD and UIC come over and, after 5 minutes, we continue the game, BR is out. My first protest won, and in front of my mentor. Nice moment for me. OC comes over after the game and tells me good job. Even nicer. Sort of a Master Card moment.

BR out in TCS too.

Scooby Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
Not necessarily.

In ASA and Fed, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the interference - this move is considered interference. In NCAA, the runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. It is entirely possible and likely that both of your runners had obtained the advance base prior to the batter-runner stepping backward toward home - since they are likely breaking on the pitch.

Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.

argodad Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.

I have. Bunt-and-run. Runner was clearly around 2B before the BR retreated. Would have been ruled differently had it been a college game.

Steve M Mon Feb 11, 2008 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby
Yes, there is a techincal difference, but I have never had a baserunner advance to the next base prior to the infraction.

You must have had some slow runners, Scooby. With runners off with the pitch, they'd almost have to be at their next base by the time the B-R stepped back. I've seen this in ASA and in college.

greymule Mon Feb 11, 2008 04:20pm

The NCAA version of this reminds me of a play (originally an OBR discussion) I posed to my NCAA/ECAC softball group (and nobody is certain of the answer). But I'd like to propose a variation with BR stepping backward toward home:

NCAA softball:

Abel on 3B, 1 out. On a suicide squeeze, Baker bunts the ball on one hop to F1, who throws home too late to get the sliding Abel. F2 now throws to F3, who had charged the bunt and is now on the 1B line 15 feet from the bag. When F3 attempts to tag Baker, Baker retreats toward home to delay/avoid the tag.

Baker is out. But the question is, Do you now send Abel back to 3B?

Of course, under ASA and Fed rules, the run scores since the "interference" came afterward. The book rule in NCAA would be to send Abel back to 3B. However, that's also the book rule in OBR, but Abel's run does score.

Note: The original play involved the BR being called out for running lane interference. Unlike ASA (and I guess Fed), NCAA (and OBR) return runners TOP of the BR commits interference before reaching 1B.

JPRempe Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
The NCAA version of this reminds me of a play (originally an OBR discussion) I posed to my NCAA/ECAC softball group (and nobody is certain of the answer). But I'd like to propose a variation with BR stepping backward toward home:

NCAA softball:

Abel on 3B, 1 out. On a suicide squeeze, Baker bunts the ball on one hop to F1, who throws home too late to get the sliding Abel. F2 now throws to F3, who had charged the bunt and is now on the 1B line 15 feet from the bag. When F3 attempts to tag Baker, Baker retreats toward home to delay/avoid the tag.

Baker is out. But the question is, Do you now send Abel back to 3B?

Of course, under ASA and Fed rules, the run scores since the "interference" came afterward. The book rule in NCAA would be to send Abel back to 3B. However, that's also the book rule in OBR, but Abel's run does score.

Note: The original play involved the BR being called out for running lane interference. Unlike ASA (and I guess Fed), NCAA (and OBR) return runners TOP of the BR commits interference before reaching 1B.


I assume you mean Alpha and Bravo...

:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1