![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The ball became stuck in official equipment properly worn by the DEFENSE over which the DEFENSE has total control. Now, if the ball entered and became lodge, stuck or took on any status to which the defense did not have immediate and unrestricted access to the ball, then it is a Dead Ball. Check out 8.5.M Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jan 26, 2008 at 11:09pm. |
|
|||
Mike,
Didn't the original post state that the ball was lodged, and that the catcher reached in & got it? Maybe nit-picking, but if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm looking at 8-5.G, 8-5.M, RS-17, and Blocked Ball (definition). They all seem to NOT apply when lodged in defensive equipment still worn. I think this is one where one may assume it SHOULD apply, but actually doesn't.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
if it's lodged I would think it should be dead.
ASA 8-4-H "Runners are entitled to advance with liability to be put out . . . when a live ball becomes lodged in a defensive player's uniform or equipment." From case play 8.4-9 ". . . the ball remains live while it is entangled in a defensive player's uniform or equipment."
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
greymule,
There- you found something that addresses a ball entering a uniform or equipment. Good job! I must have read right past it a couple of times. That rule tells us that the ball remains live upon entering the uniform/equipment (ie: runners may still advance and outs can still be made). With respect to the foul tip in question, the rule you cite combined with the definition of a catch tells us that this is a legally caught foul tip. Under the definition of catch, we see: If the ball is merely held in the arms or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielder's body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand(s) or glove. So, a live ball entering the uniform/equipment of a defender remains live and may be extracted, then securely held for a legal catch. That means the catcher on our play did legally catch a batted ball that first went sharp and direct to her hands or mitt. ![]() Last edited by BretMan; Sat Jan 26, 2008 at 08:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jan 26, 2008 at 11:02pm. |
|
|||
Well, I guess we've established that the OP is indeed a foul tip. Thank you all for your input.
Now: Bases loaded, nicked ball goes hand to shoulder to lodged behind the protector. Offensive coach knows to send all the runners while the catcher is struggling with the protector, and all three cross the plate. You, of course, watch to see whether the catcher ever gets secure possession. The pitcher decides to give the catcher some help and comes in and lifts the protector away from F2's body, and the ball falls out into the pitcher's hand. OK. Everybody back on your bases!
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That would be a foul ball
Right. For the play to be a foul tip, F2 would have to catch the ball. But since F1 is the one who secured the ball, it's simply a foul. That's why all runners would return. Now let's posit that in the confusion with the ball lodged behind the protector and the coach exhorting the runners to advance, one of the runners passed another. Would she still be out if the potential foul tip didn't materialize and the ball became simply a foul?
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
As I stop and think - I know novel thought - the ball is live and the ruling makes sense and I have even made that call in the past. Dunno what I was thinking, but obviously it was soemthing else.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Foul Tip / Catcher
ISF: Rule 1 ~ Definitions ~ 39 ~ Foul Tip
Sec. 39 FOUL TIP. A foul tip is a batted ball which a. Goes directly from the bat to the catcher's hands. b. Goes not higher than the batter's head, and c. Is legally caught by the catcher. NOTE: It is not a foul tip unless caught; and any foul tip that is caught is a strike. In Fast Pitch the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball first touched the catcher's hand(s) or glove. Okay so the play is Not a Foul Tip and cannot be a valid Catch after touching the Protector. But it Remains Live (Although I have no Rule to back this up with!!
__________________
Spencer S Suckling ESF Fastpitch & Slowpitch, ABUA-GB London, SW18 3QX. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shooting Foul with Technical Foul / How Many FTs? | rgncjn | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:29am |
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul | jdw3018 | Basketball | 7 | Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:35am |
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? | thereluctantref | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm |
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game | BktBallRef | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am |
USSSA Foul tip vs. Foul ball | sunfudblu | Baseball | 2 | Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:08pm |