The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Mike, I can't recall any wording like that in the book since I've started umpiring, but I think 8-5-B-2 covers it very well...

Quote:
EFFECT: A dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and all other runners shall be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire’s judgment, had there not been obstruction.
While it doesn't use the same language you used, I think it's clear to me that if your judgment tells you that R2 would have clearly made it home had the obstruction (and resulting dead ball) had not happened, you should award R2 home.

Maybe you heard it phrased like that in a clinic or school? If so, I can't say I agree with the wording. I don't have a tape measure with me on the field, but it's my judgment based on what I see that determines "s/he would have or would not have made it home safely if there had been no OBS at 1B."
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Mike, I can't recall any wording like that in the book since I've started umpiring, but I think 8-5-B-2 covers it very well...

EFFECT: A dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and all other runners shall be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire’s judgment, had there not been obstruction.
Quote:
POE 35, 2004 ASA rulebook: "If other runners are advancing when an umpire calls time following a play on an obstructed runner, a rule of thumb for placement of the other runners is: If they have not reached half way to the next base, they must return to the previous base. However, if they have advanced over half way, they are allowed to advance to the next base."
Disappeared in 2005. Personally, I feel the deletion of this statement is a mistake as it may create a problem with runner placement. As noted, the current rule (and RS) award other runners advancement based of being affected by obstruction.

Typically, other runners are not affected (directly) by obstruction; they are stopped mid-stride by an umpire calling dead ball. Thus they should advance or retreat based on umpire judgment of where they would have been had time not been called. (This is similar to an umpire calling time due to serious injury and subsequently placing runners that were stopped due to the time call.)

In the OP, using the current rulebook, I could have judged that had obstruction not occured, there would have been no run down, and that R2 would not had an opportunity to try for home; thus R2 would be returned to 3B.

However, if I rule only on R2's location at time of dead ball, I may have a different result.

WMB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1