The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Dec 02, 2007, 08:54am
Official Forum Member

Around the Horn

I am a pitching instructor and this year is my first coaching a U16 travel team (PONY). Last week we started teaching the girls to throw the ball around the horn on strike outs or put outs in the infield (no one on base) and it was brough into guestion by someone that is was no legal in according to PONY and ASA. We are using 2 to 3 to 6 to 4 to 5 back to 3 then to the pitcher? Is this allowed?
Old Sun Dec 02, 2007, 09:53am
Official Forum Member

I cannot answer for PONY; have no knowledge whatsoever. I can address NFHS and ASA.

There is no specific rules basis to allow or disallow a team from throwing the ball around, nor is there any specific rules basis to allow or disallow the infield to come to the circle to congratulate the pitcher or team. What there is, is a continuing and growing emphasis to stop the unnecessary and often ridiculous delays in playing the game, where 1-0 7 inning games that should play in 1:15 to 1:20 are taking 1:45 to 2:00; or where time limits of 1:20 or 1:30 are only playing 4 or 5 innings.