The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gwinnett County, Georgia
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Now that the rules have deteremined that this runner is safe, the mechanic as noted on page 228 of the Umpire Manual states: The base umpire indicates decisions through simultaneous verbal and visual signals. Umpires signal SAFE when a runner has beaten a play. They punctuate a vigorous SAFE signal with a verbal SAFE call.

Please note that it reads "beaten the play", not "is safe in the absolute".

ASA, and many of the other softball rule sets, consider an appeal for a missed base a separate play and not a continuation.

On any play like this the umpire should hesitate to make sure s/he got the full picture of the play and then make the call. The manual also states is should be a hesitation, not a delay. Even on a similar situation at home, the mechanic calls for a hesitation and if the catcher does not make a tag on the play, to call the runner safe.

I'm done with this one.
I understand this completely, but it is not correct for my sub-topic/spinoff. That particular instance has yet to be answered by anyone here, and the best advice I get from my fellow brothers in blue/grey is "Sure. Start reading on page 188. You can stop on page 264." Too bad there is no specific answer in those pages which would satisfy my situation.

Again, the situation I am speaking of is as follows:

B/R hits a sharp ground ball deep in the hole in the vicinity of F6. F6 fields the ball cleanly, but does not attempt to make a throw to F3 at 1B. The B/R does not actually touch the 1B bag, but passes it. Since there is no defensive play being made on this B/R at 1B by F3 or any other defensive positional player, am I required by rule, instruction, mechanic, supplement/whatever to signal and verbally call this runner safe?

Again, please understand that I am talking about my specific (above mentioned) sub-topic/spinoff, and not the OP specific situation. Can anyone here answer this very simple question?


For the record, this is how my entire association has been trained (in the specific instance I am speaking about - no call, even if the B/R misses the 1B bag if there is no play being made upon him/1B bag at the time of the B/R missing 1B, but passing it).

Last edited by JPRempe; Sat Jun 30, 2007 at 02:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
With the play described by JPRempe, I have no call unless an infielder appeals the missed bag before the runner returns to the bag. No signal, no verbal call, no wink to the runner, no double-fist pump. This is no different from if he hit the ball to the outfield and got an in-the-park home run, but missed 1B.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 04:32pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
This is different then an in the park home run with first base missed, in that this must be a live ball appeal as compared to a dead ball appeal. No play no call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
This is different then an in the park home run with first base missed, in that this must be a live ball appeal as compared to a dead ball appeal. No play no call.
My point was what you do in the case of a missed bag. Until they appeal at the proper time, there's no call. That's all I was getting at.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
B/R hits a sharp ground ball deep in the hole in the vicinity of F6. F6 fields the ball cleanly, but does not attempt to make a throw to F3 at 1B. The B/R does not actually touch the 1B bag, but passes it. Since there is no defensive play being made on this B/R at 1B by F3 or any other defensive positional player, am I required by rule, instruction, mechanic, supplement/whatever to signal and verbally call this runner safe?

No!
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal mach3 Softball 7 Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am
The Appeal clok_strix_3 Baseball 12 Thu May 08, 2003 03:31pm
Appeal Prince Baseball 3 Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm
Out on Appeal ??? Bandit Softball 2 Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am
appeal Whowefoolin Baseball 2 Fri Nov 30, 2001 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1