The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
No, according to the rule book, i believe, if you start shorthanded, that's 9 defenders with the 10 spot on the lineup vacant... meaning every time that 10th spot comes up its an out.
Read the question again. Look in ASA 4-2-D for any reference to "defense only."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.
Look again at ASA 8-5-B, EXCEPTION 1. Is exception 1 still applicable? Why or why not?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Read the question again. Look in ASA 4-2-D for any reference to "defense only."
Look again at ASA 8-5-B, EXCEPTION 1. Is exception 1 still applicable? Why or why not?
Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?

17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?

17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??
Shorthanded should be 4-1-D and basically you can't have an empty spot on defense without having an empty spot in the batting order on offense.

BTW, just for orientation, the other responders to you are experts.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Shorthanded should be 4-1-D and basically you can't have an empty spot on defense without having an empty spot in the batting order on offense.

BTW, just for orientation, the other responders to you are experts.
thanks cecil, sorry if I'm coming across like I know more about the rules. I was basically challenged and not given the answer so I was kind of giving my explanation of how I interpreted the rule.. I came here for help, so I know these guys are experts, I'm a beginner like I said just trying to understand some of the rules. I don't want to get out there and make an *** of myself some I doing as much research as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
thanks cecil, sorry if I'm coming across like I know more about the rules. I was basically challenged and not given the answer so I was kind of giving my explanation of how I interpreted the rule.. I came here for help, so I know these guys are experts, I'm a beginner like I said just trying to understand some of the rules. I don't want to get out there and make an *** of myself some I doing as much research as possible.
I wasn't criticizing, just helping you sort out the experts from those who aren't.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?
Sorry - fat fingered typing. 4-1-D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??
Rather than give you direct answers, I'm trying to help you think it through. The runner will always be making decisions on where to go after he is obstructed. Once obstructed, he is protected in two ways, 1) To the base he would have achieved (in your judgment) had there been no obstruction, and 2) between the bases where the obs occurred. Protection 2) overrides protection 1) - that is advancing beyond the base he was protected to (when that base is the preceding base) does not remove his protection between the bases. That protection between the bases can only be removed under listed situations: a) the runner does achieve the base he would have achieved and then advances AFTER a play on ANOTHER runner, or b) the runner commits one of the listed infractions (e.g. interference, missing a base, etc.). The rule makes no exception for retreating and then deciding to advance again. He is still protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Sorry - fat fingered typing. 4-1-D.

Rather than give you direct answers, I'm trying to help you think it through. The runner will always be making decisions on where to go after he is obstructed. Once obstructed, he is protected in two ways, 1) To the base he would have achieved (in your judgment) had there been no obstruction, and 2) between the bases where the obs occurred. Protection 2) overrides protection 1) - that is advancing beyond the base he was protected to (when that base is the preceding base) does not remove his protection between the bases. That protection between the bases can only be removed under listed situations: a) the runner does achieve the base he would have achieved and then advances AFTER a play on ANOTHER runner, or b) the runner commits one of the listed infractions (e.g. interference, missing a base, etc.). The rule makes no exception for retreating and then deciding to advance again. He is still protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
Understood you 100% Dakota from your first post. I'm not looking for the answer outright either buddy. Thanks for helping me out on that... I could've sworn that I read somewhere though that OBS is a delayed dead ball and after he touched a base he's no longer protected between the two... I now have True for #17 thanks... What about the other questions?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
guys, thanks for all the help. I've found everything that I need. Looking forward to conversing some of the experience I encounter in the near future with you. I'll definitely be back to post...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Oh, I forgot to say ... welcome to the board!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Pre-game Introduction Chess Ref Basketball 34 Thu Jan 18, 2007 05:35pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm
Introduction ~ New member Blackhawk357 Basketball 22 Thu Feb 13, 2003 08:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1