The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Illegal Pitch????

Pitcher takes the pitching plate with ball in non-glove hand
Gloved hand is held against the sternum of the pitcher
She takes the non-gloved hand with the ball and places it on top of the glove
She momentarily stays like this
Then the non-gloved hand is removed from the ball and wiped on the jersey top
After wiping the hand it is placed back on the ball, which is still on top of the glove
Sometimes she may do the same routine once or twice more
Finally the non-gloved hand grips the ball and the arm is swung away from the gloved hand
Hands are brought together one last time, this time ball is placed in glove and removed, just like a normal pitchers routine when bringing the hands together
Pitch is delivered to batter
Every pitch is the same routine, just the number of times the hand is wiped on the uniform may change
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Illegal. And odd. What age level?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
16U. Coach stated that the girl has been doing this for a long time, he feels that she is legal because the ball never enters the glove.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
There is no requirement for the ball to EVER enter the glove. The requirement is for the pitcher to bring the hands together, and to do this once and only once before delivering the ball.

Quote:
ASA Rule 6
Section 3. LEGAL DELIVERY.
A. The pitcher must not make any motion to pitch without immediately delivering the ball to the batter.
B. The pitcher must not use a pitching motion in which, after bringing the hands together, the pitcher removes one hand from the ball, and returns the ball to both hands.
Your pitcher is likely violating both "A" and "B".
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Illegal. And odd. What age level?
and irritating..

Man, imagine waiting for her to pitch over and over.

Throw the dang ball girl.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpinill
Pitcher takes the pitching plate with ball in non-glove hand
Gloved hand is held against the sternum of the pitcher
She takes the non-gloved hand with the ball and places it on top of the glove
She momentarily stays like this
Then the non-gloved hand is removed from the ball and wiped on the jersey top
The rest of this doesn't happen because the umpire has called IP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpinill
After wiping the hand it is placed back on the ball, which is still on top of the glove
Sometimes she may do the same routine once or twice more
Finally the non-gloved hand grips the ball and the arm is swung away from the gloved hand
Hands are brought together one last time, this time ball is placed in glove and removed, just like a normal pitchers routine when bringing the hands together
Pitch is delivered to batter
Every pitch is the same routine, just the number of times the hand is wiped on the uniform may change
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpinill
16U. Coach stated that the girl has been doing this for a long time, he feels that she is legal because the ball never enters the glove.
Speaking ASA

Coach is mistaken and needs to reread the rule (though I doubt the coach read it in the first place). The requirement is for the hands to come together. There is no mention of being inside the glove.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpinill
16U. Coach stated that the girl has been doing this for a long time, he feels that she is legal because the ball never enters the glove.
We've all heard this one before from a coach, including coaches who complain when I tell them to get rid of their yellow-barrel Evo. "But we've been using it all season!"
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Ask the coach if the ball was hit and the pitcher caught the ball like that would it be a catch . He might get the idea then .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
We've all heard this one before from a coach, including coaches who complain when I tell them to get rid of their yellow-barrel Evo. "But we've been using it all season!"
"I'm sorry, Coach, if you would like to give me a list of all those games I will try to make sure your batters get DQ'd for them."
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
Ask the coach if the ball was hit and the pitcher caught the ball like that would it be a catch . He might get the idea then .
You actually are suggesting explaining two rules he doesn't know at the same time!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Talking

Dammit your right .
Coaches are confused enough already
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
Ask the coach if the ball was hit and the pitcher caught the ball like that would it be a catch . He might get the idea then .
I wouldn't... I'm having trouble seeing what this description has to do at all with the scenario posted. In fact, it seems CONTRARY to the point (the point being - POSSESSION in the glove is NOT required ... merely bringing the hands together (twice) is what makes the pitch illegal.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Read the wording of the first posting .
You are getting too technical for a coach with just saying bringing hands together . Lets start simple .
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
Smile

debeau...some of us do read the book (although mines a tad out of date), participate in your forum in a civil way, and rarely (but not never) argue calls on the field...please don't paint us with your broad brush...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitch - Illegal or No Pitch? Duke Softball 13 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17am
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal ball... illegal pitch? [email protected] Baseball 5 Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm
Hit by pitch along with Illegal pitch Del-Blue Softball 10 Sun Mar 09, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1