The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2007, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
You make the call

Batters hits fair ball down the right field line. BR collides with F3 (failing to touch 1Base), umpire signals OBS. BR advances to 2B, then advances to 3B on bad throw. Defense appeals missed base at 1B. Do you call the BR out for failing to touch 1B or enforce the OBS and leave her on 3B?
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2007, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
Batters hits fair ball down the right field line. BR collides with F3 (failing to touch 1Base), umpire signals OBS. BR advances to 2B, then advances to 3B on bad throw. Defense appeals missed base at 1B. Do you call the BR out for failing to touch 1B or enforce the OBS and leave her on 3B?
Did the OBS cause the missed base?
Did the umpire judge the BR would reach another base w/o the OBS and 1st touched?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2007, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Runner is out

My understanding is that the obstructed runner is still required to touch all bases.

But I'm just a coach - very interested to hear what the umps have to say!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2007, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
OBS does not relieve the runner from her base running duties. She must legally run all bases. As a matter of fact, ASA clearly states that an appeal for missing a base as a situation where the runner can be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed. (8:5:B)
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
She must run bases correctly. However, when the umpire awards the base, she is allowed to retouch... so we don't have enough information yet.

Cecil's 2nd question is important - where was the runner protected to (i.e. awarded)? Probably 2nd from the description, but this is a guess.

Also - was this missed base appeal made during live or dead ball period?

If the award was 3rd base, the umpire will not be telling the runner to go retouch, but the umpire SHOULD announce the OBS and award third base (yes, this can be awkward and/or confusing if she's already standing on 3rd). If the runner goes and retouches properly, she's fine. Most likely, she won't ... and then a dead ball appeal at 1st would result in an out.

On the other hand, if this is a live ball appeal --- wouldn't most of you call that a play on the runner? At which point we should rule dead ball, announce the OBS and the award, and again, see if the runner goes to retouch.

I'd be interested to hear Mike's opinion on this.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2007, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
She must run bases correctly. However, when the umpire awards the base, she is allowed to retouch... so we don't have enough information yet.

Cecil's 2nd question is important - where was the runner protected to (i.e. awarded)? Probably 2nd from the description, but this is a guess.

Also - was this missed base appeal made during live or dead ball period?

If the award was 3rd base, the umpire will not be telling the runner to go retouch, but the umpire SHOULD announce the OBS and award third base (yes, this can be awkward and/or confusing if she's already standing on 3rd). If the runner goes and retouches properly, she's fine. Most likely, she won't ... and then a dead ball appeal at 1st would result in an out.

On the other hand, if this is a live ball appeal --- wouldn't most of you call that a play on the runner? At which point we should rule dead ball, announce the OBS and the award, and again, see if the runner goes to retouch.

I'd be interested to hear Mike's opinion on this.
Agreed, there is no ASA rule which exempts the runner, obstructed or not, from touching all the bases in proper order.

Once the ball becomes dead for any reason, I'm hesitating to see any reaction by the runner (as to return to touch the missed base). If none, I accept the appeal and rule the OBS out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make the Call IREFU2 Basketball 15 Fri Dec 09, 2005 02:08pm
Make the Call ...... Ref Daddy Basketball 3 Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:39pm
Make the call oppool Softball 29 Sat Mar 01, 2003 06:37pm
Make the call oppool Softball 16 Wed Jan 09, 2002 09:58pm
What call would you make? Gre144 Baseball 9 Fri May 18, 2001 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1