![]() |
|
|||
It was always the mantra that USC in ASA was an ejection, but not an out. At least, that is the "mantra" that I believed. Then, along came the famous case play that ruled a runner out for "flagrant misconduct" - specifically, throwing the bat in anger. That case play was backed up by the thinnest of rules citations, and was obviously an interpretation rather that black-letter rule. OK, so if that is the interpretation ASA wants, and since the ruling was for "flagrant misconduct" it could be applied more generally.
Apparently, the case play was NOT universally accepted among the NUS, and now it has disappeared. From its removal, I infer that ASA no longer wants an out called for "flagrant misconduct" and hence, I infer we are back to black-letter rule on this. The players can be ejected but not declared out unless there are additional infractions (such as interference) that would result in the out (crashing into a fielder in possession of the ball, for example).
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Without referencing individuals;
The former interpretation was issued by the former Deputy Director of Umpires. However, as you note, there never was specific rule coverage applicable. The current Director of Umpires is directing the NUS to only use interpretations which can be supported by rule; this was intentionally removed from the casebook for that reason. I would conclude that a runner is not out for an intentional crash with a fielder without the ball; just ejected for USC.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
Wouldn't allowing the runner to score be ruling in favor of the team at fault? Also, if umpires aren't allowed to use their discretion on plays that aren't covered in the rule book, why does rule 10-1 even exist? My interpretation of that rule is exactly as I had mentioned before: if it ain't in the book, it's umpire's discretion to determine the call based on the integrity of the game, guided by the spirit of the rule book. I know, I know, sounds a bit like a lofty concept, but I could think of no other way to phrase it. ![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. Last edited by NCASAUmp; Tue May 08, 2007 at 03:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I, as the umpire, do not want such liberty as there isn't even a remote chance any such rulings would be consistant across the state, let alone the nation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
However, the possibility of a runner committing a flagrant act like this on a fielder that's nowhere near making a play on him is highly likely. For example, R1 on 2nd and B2 hits a deep gap shot to the outfield. While approaching 3rd base, R1 takes a cheap shot at F5 while the ball is still being recovered by the outfielders. I'm sure something like this has happened at least 100 times already, but there's no actual rule that spells it out. Perhaps ASA could consider spelling this out a little clearer? Put it in 8-8? Maybe 4-8? Seeing the variety of answers here (and by the umps I've asked in the field), I think it would be worth it to see their intentions in black and white.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
We recently discussed a play (from an old ASA test) in which the batter is called out for throwing his bat in anger before his fly ball goes over the fence. We noted that the case book does not contain that play, and that the interpretation has been discredited or rejected. Discredited or rejected by whom? The case book is still valid in my opionion, since it was a 2005/06 book. Does the current case book say to disregard previous interpretations? Common sense says a player who commits an ejectable offense before scoring is out and his run(even on an awarded base) cannot count. |
|
|||
Sorry...I was just trying to make a point and didn't mean to run afoul of the nice police.
__________________
John An ucking fidiot Last edited by bkbjones; Wed May 09, 2007 at 11:30pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Crash interference | Dakota | Softball | 7 | Mon Jul 10, 2006 04:15pm |
What is a crash? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Sun Jul 04, 2004 12:59am |
Crash? | TERRY1 | Softball | 5 | Thu Jun 13, 2002 01:45pm |
Crash Course Please? | Just Curious | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 11, 2002 10:28am |
Crash Rule | LIBLUE | Softball | 22 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 09:38pm |