The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 05:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 28
Force Play or Appeal?

Two outs. R1 on first base and R3 on third base. Batter hits grounder.

A. R1 rounds second base, missing the base. Ball is played to second base and bag is touched before R1 returns to the base. Is the runner out on force-out and no run can score (ASA Rule 8-7-C, force out) ? Or is this an appeal play, defense must appeal and tell BU she missed the base, so that run can score if home plate touched before appeal is made?

B. Is answer the same if R1 overruns or slides past second basewithout touching the bag and base is touched before she can scramble back to the bag?

Thank you for replies.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Appeal on force play wolhiser Softball 9 Mon Apr 25, 2005 07:03pm
Force Play? rsteele Baseball 20 Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am
Out at first not a force play greymule Baseball 6 Mon Jan 06, 2003 06:13pm
Third out without a force play collinb Softball 5 Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1