Force Play or Appeal?
Two outs. R1 on first base and R3 on third base. Batter hits grounder.
A. R1 rounds second base, missing the base. Ball is played to second base and bag is touched before R1 returns to the base. Is the runner out on force-out and no run can score (ASA Rule 8-7-C, force out) ? Or is this an appeal play, defense must appeal and tell BU she missed the base, so that run can score if home plate touched before appeal is made?
B. Is answer the same if R1 overruns or slides past second basewithout touching the bag and base is touched before she can scramble back to the bag?
Thank you for replies.
|