View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 05:41am
SC Ump SC Ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
My understanding is that the rule on these situations are the same. If a runner passes a base, they are considered to have touched it. However, if the defense were to touch the base while possessing the ball, and they were to make the proper appeal that the runner missed the base, then it would be considered a force out.

"Making the proper appeal" means letting the umpire know specifically the intention of your actions.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote