The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Apr 20, 2007, 07:23am
Official Forum Member

History Lesson Anyone ?

I am hoping to get a historical context of the two base award "at the time of the pitch."
I am in my third year so my references only go back that far.

I had this Sitch or something very similar happen 3x times this week with 3 different partners.

Runner on 1B. Basehit to RF. Play on Runner @ 3rd Base. Lets assume BR is between 1B &2B by now. Ball is overthrown into dead ball area. I say BR should get 3B.

I have all 3 partners bring out the "at the time of the pitch" card when we have had discussions on where to place the batter runner.

I say BR should get 3B. Am I totally screwing the pooch here ? All 3 partners say no "time of pitch yada yada yada.....

What say you ?
Old Fri Apr 20, 2007, 08:27am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I am hoping to get a historical context of the two base award "at the time of the pitch."
I am in my third year so my references only go back that far.

I had this Sitch or something very similar happen 3x times this week with 3 different partners.

Runner on 1B. Basehit to RF. Play on Runner @ 3rd Base. Lets assume BR is between 1B &2B by now. Ball is overthrown into dead ball area. I say BR should get 3B.

I have all 3 partners bring out the "at the time of the pitch" card when we have had discussions on where to place the batter runner.

I say BR should get 3B. Am I totally screwing the pooch here ? All 3 partners say no "time of pitch yada yada yada.....

What say you ?
On a thrown ball, it is two bases from the time of the throw.

It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Old Fri Apr 20, 2007, 08:31am
Official Forum Member

Pray tell, which rule book are you using? ASA? USSSA? Kinda makes a difference...