![]() |
|
|
|||
History Lesson Anyone ?
I am hoping to get a historical context of the two base award "at the time of the pitch."
I am in my third year so my references only go back that far. I had this Sitch or something very similar happen 3x times this week with 3 different partners. Runner on 1B. Basehit to RF. Play on Runner @ 3rd Base. Lets assume BR is between 1B &2B by now. Ball is overthrown into dead ball area. I say BR should get 3B. I have all 3 partners bring out the "at the time of the pitch" card when we have had discussions on where to place the batter runner. I say BR should get 3B. Am I totally screwing the pooch here ? ![]() What say you ? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Pray tell, which rule book are you using? ASA? USSSA? Kinda makes a difference...
![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
FEd Book
Sorry. Using NFHS book. I know the rule but am looking for some background from you old grizzly vets. Like we have had the about to receive change - was there a time of the pitch change in the past ?
![]() Just thought it strange that i heard that 3 times this week. It was starting to get surreal..... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
The original (1932) softball rule for awards on an overthrow was two bases based on time of pitch. In the mid 40's the rule changed to "one + one" for the runner being played on at 1B, 3B, or home. Other runners received the same award based on their position at TOP. Ten years later the TOP was dropped and all runners were awarded one+one. In early 70's the infamous "1st play from infield" came in. Now the award is two bases from TOP. (On a throw from the outfield, or on a subsequent play, the award was two bases from last base touched at Time of Throw.) Finally - mid 80's - the rule was changed to what you see today: two bases from time the ball leaves the player's hand, or TOT. Today, the only way your partners can be right is if a batted ball goes out of play, either on its own, or after being deflected off a fielder or runner or umpire. Then the two base award is from TOP. But not on a throw! Next time you see those guys hand them a rule book. NFHS 8-4.3.f; ASA 8-5.G. WMB Last edited by WestMichBlue; Fri Apr 20, 2007 at 11:10am. |
|
|||
As above, time of throw for at least 20 years in NFHS, ASA, PONY, NCAA SOFTBALL.
![]() However, TOP does apply to a pitch and, as WMB said, a batted ball.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Nsa
I looked it up and it is a both and situatuation. On the first throw from the infield, the award is from the base occupied at TOP but on subsequent plays and throws from the OF it is TOT. If I insensed anyone's lack of sensibilities, I apologize.
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Learned A lesson | Chess Ref | Softball | 3 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 02:17pm |
New Lesson Learned | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 4 | Thu Jan 19, 2006 02:17pm |
lesson learned | MPLAHE | Basketball | 9 | Mon Nov 28, 2005 04:46pm |
History Lesson: Three Technicals and more | OverAndBack | Basketball | 0 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 11:39am |
A lesson for us all! | Jeff the Ref | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 07, 2003 02:17pm |