Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I am hoping to get a historical context of the two base award "at the time of the pitch." . . . . . . . I have all 3 partners bring out the "at the time of the pitch" card when we have had discussions on where to place the batter runner.
|
Just how old are your partners?
The original (1932) softball rule for awards on an overthrow was two bases based on time of pitch.
In the mid 40's the rule changed to "one + one" for the runner being played on at 1B, 3B, or home. Other runners received the same award based on their position at TOP.
Ten years later the TOP was dropped and all runners were awarded one+one.
In early 70's the infamous "1st play from infield" came in. Now the award is two bases from TOP. (On a throw from the outfield, or on a subsequent play, the award was two bases from last base touched at Time of Throw.)
Finally - mid 80's - the rule was changed to what you see today: two bases from time the ball leaves the player's hand, or TOT.
Today, the only way your partners can be right is if a batted ball goes out of play, either on its own, or after being deflected off a fielder or runner or umpire. Then the two base award is from TOP.
But not on a throw! Next time you see those guys hand them a rule book. NFHS 8-4.3.f; ASA 8-5.G.
WMB