![]() |
|
|||
|
Greymule wrote:
Yes indeed, the BR did commit interference, but by deliberately colliding with F3, not by continuing to run. Nothing says the BR must stop running when IFR is called. I misstated(or misidentified) the rule : Rule 8-7, P which states: When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner. Note: A runner continuing to run after being DECLARED out .......(m)ay be considered a form of interference. Rule 8-2,i The batter runner is out WHEN an infield fly is DECLARED. The umpire would be fully justifed in calling the runner from third out since the rule book definition of interference in this case happened before the runner touched home and the subsequent collision with the fielder prevented a double play. Or he could call inteference when the batter/runner continued to run after being declared out which would result in a dead ball and the runners would have to return. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double First Base | SRW | Softball | 11 | Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am |
| Double first base | bkbjones | Softball | 11 | Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm |
| Double Base | mach3 | Softball | 6 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm |
| Again double base 1st | oppool | Softball | 4 | Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm |
| ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here | Tap | Softball | 9 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm |