The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2007, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I think the rule book covers that situation and makes the answer "none of the above".

It's ASA's test.

With the bases loaded and less than two outs a pop fly on the infield is an infield fly and the batter is out when the umpire calls infield fly: Rule 8-2, i.

The play stipulates that the ball was "near the line." But even if the ump did call IFR, the BR still interfered with the fielder. The ball isn't dead on IFR.

Rule 7-p says that ....(if) any offensive player, after being called out, interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the runner closest to home plate shall be called out and all other runners returned to bases at the time of the interference. The key part of the ruling comes next: A runner continuing to run after being declared out and drawing a throw is a form of interference. While this is not the exact circumstance in this scenario the effect is the same. The batter runner was out on the infield fly rule and committed interference by continuing to run.

Yes indeed, the BR did commit interference, but by deliberately colliding with F3, not by continuing to run. Nothing says the BR must stop running when IFR is called.

At the very least you would have a ruling that the interference occured before the runner touched the plate and would justify putting the runners back.

The play stipulates: "R1 has touched home before the collision."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2007, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Greymule wrote:

Yes indeed, the BR did commit interference, but by deliberately colliding with F3, not by continuing to run. Nothing says the BR must stop running when IFR is called.


I misstated(or misidentified) the rule :

Rule 8-7, P which states:

When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.

Note: A runner continuing to run after being DECLARED out .......(m)ay be considered a form of interference.

Rule 8-2,i The batter runner is out WHEN an infield fly is DECLARED.

The umpire would be fully justifed in calling the runner from third out since the rule book definition of interference in this case happened before the runner touched home and the subsequent collision with the fielder prevented a double play. Or he could call inteference when the batter/runner continued to run after being declared out which would result in a dead ball and the runners would have to return.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2007, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Greymule wrote:

Yes indeed, the BR did commit interference, but by deliberately colliding with F3, not by continuing to run. Nothing says the BR must stop running when IFR is called.


I misstated(or misidentified) the rule :

Rule 8-7, P which states:

When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.

Note: A runner continuing to run after being DECLARED out .......(m)ay be considered a form of interference.

Rule 8-2,i The batter runner is out WHEN an infield fly is DECLARED.

The umpire would be fully justifed in calling the runner from third out since the rule book definition of interference in this case happened before the runner touched home and the subsequent collision with the fielder prevented a double play. Or he could call inteference when the batter/runner continued to run after being declared out which would result in a dead ball and the runners would have to return.
Actually the scenario CLEARLY states R1 touched home before the collision.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2007, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Greymule wrote:

Yes indeed, the BR did commit interference, but by deliberately colliding with F3, not by continuing to run. Nothing says the BR must stop running when IFR is called.


I misstated(or misidentified) the rule :

Rule 8-7, P which states:

When, after being declared out or after scoring, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.

Note: A runner continuing to run after being DECLARED out .......(m)ay be considered a form of interference.

Rule 8-2,i The batter runner is out WHEN an infield fly is DECLARED.

The umpire would be fully justifed in calling the runner from third out since the rule book definition of interference in this case happened before the runner touched home and the subsequent collision with the fielder prevented a double play. Or he could call inteference when the batter/runner continued to run after being declared out which would result in a dead ball and the runners would have to return.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1