The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 02:17pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
I just received this email from our Regional UIC... (this should be posted on ASA's website under the Rules Clarifications later this week.) I think it helps to clarify the question, even though it relates to the fourth out appeal:

Quote:
Fourth Out Appeal Rule Clarification

A question arose regarding the possibility of allowing a fourth out appeal on the batter-runner who misses or does not reach first base in order to call a force out for the third out of a half inning, and thereby keeping a run from scoring. Rule 5, Section 5 C states, “No run shall score if a “fourth out” is the result of an appeal of a base missed or left too soon on a runner who has scored.” With this in mind, the batter-runner would be the last runner to score in any fourth out situation, therefore the fourth out appeal can not apply to the batter-runner.

Play: R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B with two outs. B3 gets a base hit to right field where F9 fields the ball and throws to home plate to retire R2 for the third out. R1 scored from 3B and B3 is advancing to 2B when the defense appeals that B3 missed 1B for the fourth out appeal and thereby nullifying the run by R1.
Ruling: The appeal should not be honored. By rule (Rule 5, Section 5 C), because R2 was called out at home plate for the third out the batter-runner missing 1B can not be appealed. R1’s run counts and the half inning is over.

Play: R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B with two outs. B3 strikes out but the catcher drops the third strike and ball rolls to the back stop. R1 scores and R2 is thrown out at home plate for the third out. B3, seeing that R2 was thrown out at the plate, stops running short of reaching 1B. The defense noticed that B3 did not reach 1B and throws the ball to 1B to retire B1.
Ruling: Because R2 is the third out, the live ball appeal at 1B should not be honored. The half inning is over and R1’s run counts.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1