![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yep youre in a tough spot lol. Little bit more important for you to get it right. I think the answer lies in the squeeze play which will illustrate why the intent of this rule would necessitate INT. Slow spinning bunt 4 ft up the line on foul side but with the obvious motion that its going fair.. it's moving to fair territor quickly as a matter of fact. Hard charging R1 from 3B -- F2 is reaching down to touch the ball foul.. runner runs through the catcher knocking the catcher over who misses touching the ball. The ball settles fair as it was obviously going to. Nothing blatant for USC.. the decision is Score the run or INT. Those that score the run dont understand the intent of INT nor acknowledge that making a play on a otherwise fair ball to make it foul is a legit defensive play worthy of the protections of the intent of the rule. To answer your other post.. a ball that settles fair before 3B is fair. So a ball on the foul side that settles fair is fair. And defensive players making a play on that ball are entitled to the protections of INT.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Excellent discussion! Thanks debeau. Even the experts disagree. Again we see the value of this board. So now I know what I'm going to do if it happens to me. I'm going to kill it and call it foul at the point of collision.
![]() As Mike said, I'm probably going to have to explain my decision to a coach. Offense shouldn't have to much to gripe about. (The other option was interference and an out.) If the defense comes out to talk: "Coach, you can't have interference on the runner on a foul ball." "But Blue, it rolled fair!" "It was foul when I killed the play, Coach. Let's play."
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Quote:
If its INT ... well then enforce the INT. I'm not sure how you are interpretting the rules to only enforce half of INT (just DB) This is a do over... maybe easiest and the path of least resistance through coaches - but strictly by the book, I dont see how you (and Dakota) are doing it.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
My take:
We have a ball with no current fair/foul status over foul territory. We have a fielder interfered with. Dead ball! At the moment of the dead ball, the ball is over foul territory, so we now have a FOUL ball. By rule, there is no out for interference with a fielder fielding a grounded foul ball. So - no out. Just a foul ball. In other words, while you have interference, you do not have a rules basis for an out. Logically, the only thing left is a foul ball.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
That is the net result. No Int call
If you let the situation play out like a DDB sitch (I see this as the only other option) Kill it whe F5 touches the ball and declare R1 out and put BR on first base. The O coach will go ballistic "Why the h*ck didn't you call it when it happened?" "Well coach, it's technically not Int when the ball is foul, however the ball rolled fair so then it became interference so I had to call it then." Now another question Can a player "make a play" on or "attempt to field" a foul ball or a ball in foul territory? Certainly yes if the ball does not touch the ground, but a slow roller that has not been ruled foul or dead is a different story isn't it? Ergo, what do you do with the crash? F5 has to be able to make a play on the ball, right?
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
||||
Quote:
[/quote] Quote:
The ball in the situation was a fair ball. the player never touched it, it settled fair, therefore, the fair aspect of INT is met. There is a punitive effect of INT.. but some umpires are averse to enforcing a punitive punishment, and instead you are looking for a "Fair/equal way" to enforce this play. The rules are clear. Quote:
No one questions that, what is being missed is the enforcement of that INT, which is actually clearly written. Quote:
Everyone knows it, because the unanamious ruling is INT DB. But you then disregard the punitive effect of INT and are on your own deciding how that INT gets applied: leaving out the written punitive punishment of INT. There is no rule is ASA that says "INT = DB, strike on batter (unless its 2 strikes), do over." Int is DB runner out.. etc. ------------------------------------------ I do agree with Dakota about using this as a case play on his exam when its obvious there is differing opinon even among the examiners is beyond the pale. VERY good dabate. This one makes me think. LBR was so tired.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Mon Oct 30, 2006 at 11:21pm. |
|
|||
Coach, The ball is dead on the interference on F5 by B1
The ball became dead in foul territory. The foul ball nullifies the interference since interference can only be called on a fair batted ball. Consequently all runners are returned to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. A strike is charged to the batter (if there are not already 2 strikes.) Play on
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Situation | tcblue13 | Softball | 8 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:32am |
Runner interference versus umpire interference | Jay R | Baseball | 1 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm |
Another Interference Situation | Stair-Climber | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:20am |
Interference on a fly situation | Gael | Softball | 3 | Thu Jul 08, 2004 01:37pm |
No Win Situation???? | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Sat Jun 23, 2001 06:52pm |