The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Is it possible to obstruct a retired runner, Cecil? I may have read that differently, but I was sure our original play description had the runner slowing before the out, so I saw no need to make that point.
1) I didn't add that point for you, as I always assume there are some newbies reading.
2) To me, the OP sequence "1B tags the white base ... before the B/R touches ... The B/R slows down" was unclear about which happened first.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
1) I didn't add that point for you, as I always assume there are some newbies reading.
2) To me, the OP sequence "1B tags the white base ... before the B/R touches ... The B/R slows down" was unclear about which happened first.
But the OP also stated "on a close play," which would have me believing that if the B/R hadn't slowed down she would have probably beaten the play by F3. Which brings us back to Steve's original post.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
But the OP also stated "on a close play," which would have me believing that if the B/R hadn't slowed down she would have probably beaten the play by F3. Which brings us back to Steve's original post.
Unless she slowed down after the "close play".

I guess the OP could clarify the OP, but then we would have to find another.
I'm just making the point that the effect on the runner only matters if she isn't already out when she slows or otherwise alters. If she was past the base or already out and then slowed down because of F4, it's not OBS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
You guys are funny but it's still vivid in my mind - she slowed down right before the 1B stomped the white base. I believe she would have been safe, and I should have called the obstruction.
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
You guys are funny but it's still vivid in my mind - she slowed down right before the 1B stomped the white base. I believe she would have been safe, and I should have called the obstruction.
MIke,
That's about what I thought you meant in your original post. Now that yo're sure what the call should have been, how will you handle this the next time?
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to fastpitch Send a message via MSN to fastpitch
having coached 10 years I usually know what is right upon reflection or can ask in this forum thanks to you guys, it's doing it as it happens that is the challenge, i never thought it would be easy and hopefully I will get it right the next time - did 4 games the next day to complete the 10U bracket for the tournament though no similiar play
__________________
Mike R Suwanee, GA
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 250
What the heck was 2B doing over there anyways? Sounds like a coaching error to me. I personally can't think of an instance where the second baseman (person) would be that close to 1B to cover the bag.
__________________
Thomas Hamkens
North Dakota ASA Umpire
Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpitch
You guys are funny but it's still vivid in my mind - she slowed down right before the 1B stomped the white base. I believe she would have been safe, and I should have called the obstruction.
And of course, I agree now, with the sequence clear.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drake - sorry I missed you Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Thu Jul 25, 2002 09:21pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Missed base David Van Milligen Baseball 14 Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm
Missed 2 bases! Robert G Baseball 2 Tue May 15, 2001 10:39pm
Missed Base jclangley Baseball 10 Wed Apr 18, 2001 08:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1