The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 18, 2006, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver,Canada
Posts: 15
only in Canada eh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Robertson
Wow! I created a monster with this post! Thanks for all your passionate and thoughtful replies. Personally I'm going to call it foul ball but hold my nose. (I also find it difficult to penalize someone for being clever--and the batter-runner in this fictitious case is one smart cookie!)
Well.... in the Quirky country of Canada, the casebook Rule 8 ,case 231 gives the following-"The batter hits a pitched ball on the ground towards first. The batted ball is touched by the batter-runner in his advance toward first The touching is :
a) intentional
b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF
c) accidental on foul ground
d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF

RULING:
a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference.
c) Foul ball, no interference
d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was
made.

Last edited by BCCanuck; Tue Sep 19, 2006 at 10:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Batter prevents ball from rolling fair

It would sure appear to me that there should be no difference in the treatment of offense and defense in this type of situation. If we're going to call the BR/runner out if they make contact with a ball that "appears" to be rolling toward fair territory, then you must award the base to the BR on the bunt/batted ball rolling down the chalk line that slips into foul territory and is immediately grabbed/slapped/touched by the defense. There is no discernible difference in my mind. Be consistent, gentlemen, that's all we're asked to be.

By the way, John , the "implication" is in the book, but the "inferrence" is being made by all of us.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
There is no discernible difference in my mind.

Fielders are supposed to field the ball and do so to their own advantage. Batters and runners are not supposed to touch or guide or interfere with batted balls.

However, if in ASA batter-runners or runners are indeed permitted to pick up foul balls on their way to 1B, that rule doesn't bother me particularly. But if I were in charge of ASA rules, I would include the following words from another code:

"It is interference by a batter or runner when he intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner." The interpretation under that code is that the ball had to have a chance to become fair.

I agree with the posters who say that a team should not be able to benefit from USC. Worse than kicking a foul ball, a BR should not be able to commit deliberate interference and benefit his team—but in a certain situation in ASA, he can.

Well.... in the Quirky country of Canada, the casebook Rule 8 ,case 231 gives the following-"The batter hits a pitched ball on the ground towards first. The batted ball is touched by the batter-runner in his advance toward first The touching is :
a) intentional
b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF
c) accidental on fair ground
d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF

RULING:
a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference.
c) Foul ball, no interference
d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was
made.


Obviously answer (c) is not correct.

Incidentally, is there a rule in ASA that prevents the following?:

Batter hits a roller down the 3B line. The ball is two inches foul but is moving toward the line. F5 charges, but before he can pick it up, the 3B coach beats him to the ball by diving and touching the ball.

Substitute "runner from 3B" for "coach." Same thing?

If these actions are legal, ASA has some rule changes to make.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCCanuck
Well.... in the Quirky country of Canada, the casebook Rule 8 ,case 231 gives the following-"The batter hits a pitched ball on the ground towards first. The batted ball is touched by the batter-runner in his advance toward first The touching is :
a) intentional
b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF
c) accidental on fair ground
d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF

RULING:
a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference.
c) Foul ball, no interference
d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was
made.
I hope that item "C" is a misprint. You can't have a foul ball on a batted ball that is touch in fair territory. You can have a dead ball situation, but never a foul ball or am I missing something here.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver,Canada
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by canump
I hope that item "C" is a misprint. You can't have a foul ball on a batted ball that is touch in fair territory. You can have a dead ball situation, but never a foul ball or am I missing something here.
You are correct. Thanks, for catching my blunder. I've edited my post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
You know how it drives you nuts when coaches make up their own rules?
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Another scenario. A bounding ground ball in foul territory is grabbed by the base coach. However, based on this thread's "assumption" that "the ball could possible come back into fair territory", you better be prepared to call somebody out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Another scenario. A bounding ground ball in foul territory is grabbed by the base coach. However, based on this thread's "assumption" that "the ball could possible come back into fair territory", you better be prepared to call somebody out.
If the base coach is in their proper position, the likelihood of the ball becoming fair is quite remote.

Answer me this...When does a batted ball become fair/foul before passing a base and is still moving? I personally don't call anything until I know for certain the ball isn't going to cross into fair territory or a defensive player touches it. If it's a batted ball that touches the batter before leaving the batter's box, yes that's a foul ball, but what if they aren't in the BB?
__________________
Thomas Hamkens
North Dakota ASA Umpire
Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
If it's a batted ball that touches the batter before leaving the batter's box, yes that's a foul ball, but what if they aren't in the BB?
Foul ball also.

If a ball in foul territory hits a runner, perhaps a runner leading off of third in foul territory, it is foul. If a ball in foul territory hits an on deck batter, it is foul. If a ball in foul territory hits a base coach, it is a foul ball. Why, or specifically, where in the rules do we have a ruling that says the same does not apply to the batter.

If it was NOT assumed to be intentional touching, it would be a foul ball. So by assuming that the BR intentionally contacted the ball AND it was assumed that the ball MIGHT have had the opportunity to become a fair ball, interference should be called? Without a rule to back it up?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Another scenario. A bounding ground ball in foul territory is grabbed by the base coach. However, based on this thread's "assumption" that "the ball could possible come back into fair territory", you better be prepared to call somebody out.
When I am coaching I never touch the ball, I let the players do it. I don't want to be on the receiving end of a rule or interpretation that I get wrong or don't know. Sounds like a good idea now.
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
OK, I'm convinced. . .the rule, as written, does not allow for an interference call. So should this situation happen, I will call foul ball. . .followed by calling the batter out for USC removing him from the game.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCCanuck
Well.... in the Quirky country of Canada, the casebook Rule 8 ,case 231 gives the following-"The batter hits a pitched ball on the ground towards first. The batted ball is touched by the batter-runner in his advance toward first The touching is :
a) intentional
b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF
c) accidental on fair foul ground
d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF

RULING:
a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference.
c) Foul ball, no interference
d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was
made.
I'm assuming the correction above...

Anyway, the problem is that the ASA book very carefully inserts "fair" into the interference rules on a runner with a batted ball, as in "makes contact with a fair batted ball..." in 8-2-F-4.

ASA makes no provision for intent here; it doesn't matter as far as the ASA book is concerned.

Contact with a batted ground ball in foul territory by a player is definitionally a foul ball (1-FOUL BALL-C). The rule makes no distinction between an offensive or defensive player.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rolling the ball in the backcourt thereluctantref Basketball 22 Thu May 18, 2006 04:28pm
"Rolling" the ball Nu1 Basketball 3 Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:12am
check swing, ball hits batter in hand, goes fair... sleebo Baseball 26 Mon Apr 19, 2004 08:19pm
Rolling the Ball Inbounds PGCougar Basketball 28 Mon Feb 16, 2004 07:53pm
dribbling a rolling ball stewcall Basketball 7 Wed Jun 25, 2003 01:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1