![]() |
|
|
|||
Wow! I created a monster with this post! Thanks for all your passionate and thoughtful replies. Personally I'm going to call it foul ball but hold my nose. (I also find it difficult to penalize someone for being clever--and the batter-runner in this fictitious case is one smart cookie!)
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
only in Canada eh?
Quote:
a) intentional b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF c) accidental on foul ground d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF RULING: a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference. ![]() c) Foul ball, no interference ![]() d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was made. ![]() Last edited by BCCanuck; Tue Sep 19, 2006 at 10:14am. |
|
|||
Batter prevents ball from rolling fair
It would sure appear to me that there should be no difference in the treatment of offense and defense in this type of situation. If we're going to call the BR/runner out if they make contact with a ball that "appears" to be rolling toward fair territory, then you must award the base to the BR on the bunt/batted ball rolling down the chalk line that slips into foul territory and is immediately grabbed/slapped/touched by the defense. There is no discernible difference in my mind. Be consistent, gentlemen, that's all we're asked to be.
By the way, John ![]() |
|
|||
There is no discernible difference in my mind.
Fielders are supposed to field the ball and do so to their own advantage. Batters and runners are not supposed to touch or guide or interfere with batted balls. However, if in ASA batter-runners or runners are indeed permitted to pick up foul balls on their way to 1B, that rule doesn't bother me particularly. But if I were in charge of ASA rules, I would include the following words from another code: "It is interference by a batter or runner when he intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner." The interpretation under that code is that the ball had to have a chance to become fair. I agree with the posters who say that a team should not be able to benefit from USC. Worse than kicking a foul ball, a BR should not be able to commit deliberate interference and benefit his team—but in a certain situation in ASA, he can. Well.... in the Quirky country of Canada, the casebook Rule 8 ,case 231 gives the following-"The batter hits a pitched ball on the ground towards first. The batted ball is touched by the batter-runner in his advance toward first The touching is : a) intentional b) accidental, ball on fair ground, hasn't passed an IF c) accidental on fair ground d) accidental, on fair ground, has passed an IF RULING: a)and b)-Dead ball, Out for interference. c) Foul ball, no interference d) Fair Ball, no interference, unless deliberate contact was made. Obviously answer (c) is not correct. Incidentally, is there a rule in ASA that prevents the following?: Batter hits a roller down the 3B line. The ball is two inches foul but is moving toward the line. F5 charges, but before he can pick it up, the 3B coach beats him to the ball by diving and touching the ball. Substitute "runner from 3B" for "coach." Same thing? If these actions are legal, ASA has some rule changes to make.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Another scenario. A bounding ground ball in foul territory is grabbed by the base coach. However, based on this thread's "assumption" that "the ball could possible come back into fair territory", you better be prepared to call somebody out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Answer me this...When does a batted ball become fair/foul before passing a base and is still moving? I personally don't call anything until I know for certain the ball isn't going to cross into fair territory or a defensive player touches it. If it's a batted ball that touches the batter before leaving the batter's box, yes that's a foul ball, but what if they aren't in the BB?
__________________
Thomas Hamkens North Dakota ASA Umpire Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matt Not an official, just a full-time dad, part-time coach, here to learn. |
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, the problem is that the ASA book very carefully inserts "fair" into the interference rules on a runner with a batted ball, as in "makes contact with a fair batted ball..." in 8-2-F-4. ASA makes no provision for intent here; it doesn't matter as far as the ASA book is concerned. Contact with a batted ground ball in foul territory by a player is definitionally a foul ball (1-FOUL BALL-C). The rule makes no distinction between an offensive or defensive player.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
rolling the ball in the backcourt | thereluctantref | Basketball | 22 | Thu May 18, 2006 04:28pm |
"Rolling" the ball | Nu1 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:12am |
check swing, ball hits batter in hand, goes fair... | sleebo | Baseball | 26 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 08:19pm |
Rolling the Ball Inbounds | PGCougar | Basketball | 28 | Mon Feb 16, 2004 07:53pm |
dribbling a rolling ball | stewcall | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jun 25, 2003 01:11pm |