The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Catcher forgets number of outs

How would you rule on this hypothetical situation?

Runner at second base with one out. Batter hits a fly ball near home plate. The catcher makes the catch near her team's bench area for the second out of the inning. Mistakenly thinking it is the third out of the inning, she heads to the bench while carrying the ball. As soon as she enters the dugout with the ball, the umpires call time.

Would this be considered intentionally carrying a ball out of play, or would it be unintentional? This decision affects the the awarding of bases to the runner who was on second base, of course. (I believe the baseball rule book says that if a fielder loses track of the number of outs and carries or throws the ball out of play, it is still deemed to be unintentional. The softball rule book in Canada does not address this.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Without researching this, I would rule this unintentional. The intent of the intentional carry rule is to prevent the defense from stopping a runner's advance by carrying the ball out of play. Note that intentionally carrying the ball into the dugout to tag a runner is conisdered "unintentional" for ruling purposes.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,801
One base, catch and carry. Not the two base award for intentionally carrying the ball out of play.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver,Canada
Posts: 15
Long time reader, first time writer. I 've received a lot of great advice here as well as some chuckles. John, there's a case in the SCA casebook where the catcher follows a runner into his dugout to tag him for missing home plate. SCA rules it unintentionally carrying the ball into dead ball territory. Rule 8-#183 in the casebook. Once again the advice offered by other posters is sound.., I just thought you'd like to know that the casebook reference confirms that SCA agrees with the other rulesets on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,384
The intent of the additional base for an intentional carry is to prevent deception by the fielder to stop a runner's progress. But the usual application of unintentional is a carry resulting from momentum or the above tagging a runner who is in DBT.
I agree with the above "rulings" as long as you are comfortable with the fielder's intent or lack of it.

Personally, I would make the rule such that a intentional carry to stop a runner is a live ball, with the runner protected for at least two bases.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
The intent of the additional base for an intentional carry is to prevent deception by the fielder to stop a runner's progress. But the usual application of unintentional is a carry resulting from momentum or the above tagging a runner who is in DBT.
I agree with the above "rulings" as long as you are comfortable with the fielder's intent or lack of it.

Personally, I would make the rule such that a intentional carry to stop a runner is a live ball, with the runner protected for at least two bases.
How can you have a live ball when it is in the possession of a player in DBT?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How can you have a live ball when it is in the possession of a player in DBT?
Of course we can't. Just commenting on having a stronger penalty for such an action.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Fri Jul 21, 2006 at 04:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2006, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanks for the input. That's what I would have ruled.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheerleader Forgets Undergarmet! JCrow Basketball 13 Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:06pm
incorrect number of outs IURef Baseball 3 Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:11am
How many strike outs before three outs? WindyCityBlue Baseball 10 Thu Jul 29, 2004 08:00am
Umpires declare incorrect number of outs. mick Baseball 5 Mon Jul 07, 2003 04:53am
Number of Overtime Time outs donj Basketball 1 Thu Jan 23, 2003 11:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1