The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Catcher's Obstruction question

The situation is: ASA rules, modified fast pitch. Bases loaded, 1 out. Count is 1 ball 0 strikes. Batter hits catcher's glove on backswing before the pitch is released.

Umpire signals dead ball, awards first base to batter and all runners advance on catcher's obstruction. Batter did not swing at the pitch.

Since my ASA rulebook is not handy at the moment, I searched this Forum for past CO discussions and from what I read, I'm not so sure that the call and penalty were correct.

Thanks for any opinions you might have on this,
Marina
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher's Obstruction: Hit or E2? TwoBits Baseball 19 Fri Jun 02, 2006 02:54pm
Catcher's Obstruction on backswing Bluefoot Softball 2 Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:33am
catcher's obstruction Tap Softball 25 Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:09am
Stealing on catcher's obstruction greymule Softball 10 Thu May 15, 2003 11:14pm
Catcher's Obstruction thumpferee Baseball 5 Mon May 12, 2003 05:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1