View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 01:18pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by marina_ramsey
The situation is: ASA rules, modified fast pitch. Bases loaded, 1 out. Count is 1 ball 0 strikes. Batter hits catcher's glove on backswing before the pitch is released.

Umpire signals dead ball, awards first base to batter and all runners advance on catcher's obstruction. Batter did not swing at the pitch.

Since my ASA rulebook is not handy at the moment, I searched this Forum for past CO discussions and from what I read, I'm not so sure that the call and penalty were correct.

Thanks for any opinions you might have on this,
Marina
I have a real strange feeling we've discussed this one before, but I think we talked about the pitcher never releasing the ball. Preventive umpiring dictates you suspend play, make sure the catcher is not injured, tell both to reset and go from there.

If the umpire had time to kill the play prior to the pitch, the above would be what I would prescribe, otherwise...

It seems there was a pitch in this scenario, so the ruling is correct. Actually, the manager has the option of taking the play or the award. Since this is basically a no brainer, the umpire probably just went to the obvious award. Of course, I guess it could happen that a manager may have wanted to keep the batter in there if they need a power hit and this was their power hitter. Of course, give the coach too much time to think and only God knows what might happen.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote