View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 01:01pm
marina_ramsey marina_ramsey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Catcher's Obstruction question

The situation is: ASA rules, modified fast pitch. Bases loaded, 1 out. Count is 1 ball 0 strikes. Batter hits catcher's glove on backswing before the pitch is released.

Umpire signals dead ball, awards first base to batter and all runners advance on catcher's obstruction. Batter did not swing at the pitch.

Since my ASA rulebook is not handy at the moment, I searched this Forum for past CO discussions and from what I read, I'm not so sure that the call and penalty were correct.

Thanks for any opinions you might have on this,
Marina
Reply With Quote