![]() |
|
|
|||
Can same runner be put out twice?
This nearly happened in a game tonight. Here's the situation:
Two out. Runners at first and third. Batter connects for an extra-base hit but misses first base. Both runners ahead of him score, but he is thrown out at third base trying to stretch his hit into a triple. This is the third out of the inning. I know the defensive team is permitted to make an appeal for a fourth out to nullify a run, but can they do it on a runner who has already been put out at another base? My opinion would be to allow the appeal in order to nullify the two runs that scored. Last edited by John Robertson; Wed Jul 12, 2006 at 12:22am. Reason: to correct a typing error |
|
|||
My personal opinion is that the fourth out, perhaps better worded as "the more advantageous third out", should be allowed in the case you stated.
I have seen in the past over of "the other board" (a.k.a. baseball) some long winded bombast stating there were official BB interps ruling this could not be done. Their opinion was that once the defense has put a player out, they have "chosen" the method on recording the out on that player and it cannot be undone by then "requesting" a different out on the retired player. I do not know of any softball organization to offer an official interpretation/case play on the subject.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Apparently, up until two years ago, the answer would have been yes. However, the interpretation has changed since then and a fourth out appeal is only applicable to a runner who has scored (5.5.C)
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Interesting. One would think that the offensive team should not be "rewarded" for a runner missing a base. This interpretation seems to penalize the defensive team for making a good play to put out the runner at third base.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Silliness
So on the OP play, the only way to wipe the 2 previous runs from scoring would be to intentionally not put him/her out on the bases.
What's the intent of that rule as it currently stands? |
|
|||
It seems to me that the 5-5.B NOTE would allow an appeal for a more advantageous third out, saying "NOTE: An appeal can be made after the third out in order to nullify a run." That would seem to indicate, to me, that an alternate third out which is more advantageous can be made by appeal. It seems to me that the intent of 5-5.C is to amplify that by making clear that the run cannot score if a runner who appears to have scored is appealed as a fourth out for missing a base or leaving one too soon.
And all of this would be clear and as everyone understands it to be, until a certain casebook ruling was published in 2005 (5.5-7), adding (IMO) something not stated in the rule, nor intended (I don't believe); that this now limited the fourth out to an appeal of a runner who has scored. I see this as a simple bad casebook ruling which attempts to make two rules (5-5.B Note and 5.5-C) contradict and limit, when 5.5-C was intended to add to 5.5-B, not limit it. The rule doesn't need to be revisited, or even clarified; the bad casebook ruling needs to be rescinded.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter | wfwbb | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm |
runner assisting another runner | Little Jimmy | Softball | 4 | Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13pm |
Runner helping other runner | BMGregory | Baseball | 1 | Thu May 08, 2003 03:43pm |
Bratter-Runner VS Runner | whiskers_ump | Softball | 14 | Sun Apr 28, 2002 07:04pm |
runner passing another runner | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 07, 2002 11:12am |