The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redraider
I coached a 10U game tonight and the following happened: (and I'm sorry it's not in the official umpire lingo!)

2 outs, bases loaded, batter hits to pitcher who throws it to 1st base. 1st baseman drops the throw, but picks it up and the batter is out. In the meantime, the runner on third scores. The team at bat claims that the run scores, because the initial play to first was not clean.

Our umpire was a kid and he had no idea what the ruling was. It was no big deal, because it wasn't a close game and it was in the last inning. But, I'm just curious if the run counts or not.

Hope I explained this clearly. Thank you!!

LOL thats a good one. Ya gotta be quick to think up stuff like that on the fly.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Thank you!

My first thought was what Ed said...but it was one of those things that was just goofy enough that it might be correct! And, the opposing coach was very certain of himself! Ooops, buddy...

RR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?
Not if the out on the BR (B4) was the third out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2006, 01:37pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?
ASA POE 1-J

Force Out. If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Philosphical Question for the Experts Grail Basketball 11 Mon Jun 16, 2003 05:10pm
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1