The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Question for the experts! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27331-question-experts.html)

Redraider Wed Jul 05, 2006 08:47pm

Question for the experts!
 
I coached a 10U game tonight and the following happened: (and I'm sorry it's not in the official umpire lingo!)

2 outs, bases loaded, batter hits to pitcher who throws it to 1st base. 1st baseman drops the throw, but picks it up and the batter is out. In the meantime, the runner on third scores. The team at bat claims that the run scores, because the initial play to first was not clean.

Our umpire was a kid and he had no idea what the ruling was. It was no big deal, because it wasn't a close game and it was in the last inning. But, I'm just curious if the run counts or not.

Hope I explained this clearly. Thank you!!

Ed Maeder Wed Jul 05, 2006 08:55pm

A run doesn't score when the third out of the inning is a force out or the batter runner is put out before reaching first base.

wadeintothem Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redraider
I coached a 10U game tonight and the following happened: (and I'm sorry it's not in the official umpire lingo!)

2 outs, bases loaded, batter hits to pitcher who throws it to 1st base. 1st baseman drops the throw, but picks it up and the batter is out. In the meantime, the runner on third scores. The team at bat claims that the run scores, because the initial play to first was not clean.

Our umpire was a kid and he had no idea what the ruling was. It was no big deal, because it wasn't a close game and it was in the last inning. But, I'm just curious if the run counts or not.

Hope I explained this clearly. Thank you!!


LOL thats a good one. Ya gotta be quick to think up stuff like that on the fly.

Redraider Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:08pm

Thank you!

My first thought was what Ed said...but it was one of those things that was just goofy enough that it might be correct! And, the opposing coach was very certain of himself! Ooops, buddy...

RR

Bluefoot Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:50pm

What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?

Dakota Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bluefoot
What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?

Not if the out on the BR (B4) was the third out.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jul 06, 2006 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bluefoot
What if B4 passed 1B, but did not touch 1B? Then before B4 returns to 1B, F3 tags B4 for the live ball appeal, and B4 is called out. If R1 touched home plate before the appeal on B4 was made, does R1's run count?

ASA POE 1-J

Force Out. If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out.

CecilOne Thu Jul 06, 2006 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redraider
I coached a 10U game tonight and the following happened: (and I'm sorry it's not in the official umpire lingo!)

2 outs, bases loaded, batter hits to pitcher who throws it to 1st base. 1st baseman drops the throw, but picks it up and the batter is out. In the meantime, the runner on third scores. The team at bat claims that the run scores, because the initial play to first was not clean.

Our umpire was a kid and he had no idea what the ruling was. It was no big deal, because it wasn't a close game and it was in the last inning. But, I'm just curious if the run counts or not.

Hope I explained this clearly. Thank you!!

Clear explanation, opaque coach.

tzme415 Fri Jul 07, 2006 02:36pm

Does this apply in this situation also?

R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B - 2 outs

Batter hits ball to F4, R2 stops running to 2B, and F4 tags R2 after R1 touches home - since R1 was forced to go to 2B the run would NOT count even though it was a tag

CecilOne Fri Jul 07, 2006 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415
Does this apply in this situation also?

R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B - 2 outs

Batter hits ball to F4, R2 stops running to 2B, and F4 tags R2 after R1 touches home - since R1 was forced to go to 2B the run would NOT count even though it was a tag

yup, it's a force.

Dakota Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:08am

"Force" has nothing to do with the method of putting the runner out. It only has to do with the situation the runner is in. If the runner is forced to advance due to the batter becoming a BR, it will be a force out.

It would be a force if the runner went out of her base path by more than 3' to avoid a tag. It would be a force it the runner committed crash interference on the fielder attempting to apply the tag.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1