The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.

Ernie, what happens when the B becomes a BR and bases are loaded? Each runner is FORCED to advance (1-FORCE OUT). To retire a runner forced, the base to which they are forced is touched by a player in possession of the ball or that runner is tagged with the ball or glove containing the ball. (8.7.C)

The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.

Steve has supplied the only remedy available in this scenario.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.
TWP

This Weird Play?
Typical Wednesday Problem?
This Will Perplex?

Sorry I have never heard the acronym TWP used in softball.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
"Third World Play" = a play very unlikely to happen, but which tests the boundaries of the rules in some way.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.
I guess this is a useless conversation becuase I don't see either of these situations happening (two people on one base while the defense does nothing about it).

But we have two answers if there are two runners on base and the defense does not care to play on them and instead holds the ball in the circle. Assume bases loaded no out and a base hit:

Play 1 - BR ends up on 1B, R3 and R2 both on 3B, and R1 scored. All runners have advanced to or past the base they were forced to. If the ball is being held in the circle and R2 finally dcecided to go back to 2B we ring up an LBR out.

Play 2- BR ends up on 1B, R3 on 2B. R1 scores. R2 never moves from 2B even though forced. The ball is being held in the circle and R2 and R3 are both on the base. Finally R2 decided to go to 3B. Becuase she is forced we ignore the LBR and allow play to continue.

Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?

So if we are going to get into fantasticly strange plays that will only happen in low level ball.... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???

Last edited by UmpireErnie; Sat May 27, 2006 at 10:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???
R1 (3rd base) is out on LBR.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ...
Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?
...snip...
Which rule sets say "all runners must reach the base to which they were forced" If that is the rule, then those play responses are correct.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
R1 (3rd base) is out on LBR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Which rule sets say "all runners must reach the base to which they were forced" If that is the rule, then those play responses are correct.
If the interpretation that allows R2 to advance because she is forced is that F1 is not yet a pitcher under that circumstance, then the LBR cannot be in effect for any runner.

Consider it a reasonable and logical extension of the requirement that BR reach 1B; F1 is simply another defender in possession of the ball until that point. Admittedly, I don't believe any ruleset says that, exactly; but there is no more consistent ruling based on intent and interpretations, IMO.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Sat May 27, 2006 at 12:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 30, 2006, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Or you can call to the 3B coach, "Yo, coach. What's that on your runner's back?" When s/he touches her to look, BANG!, runner assistance.
Laughing my *** off
__________________
Hey Blue! When your seeing eye dog barks, it's a strike!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I off base here ? Chess Ref Basketball 15 Thu Feb 16, 2006 03:04pm
what's base is your favorite base to pay? softballbabe14 Softball 5 Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:01pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1