View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 06:35am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.

Ernie, what happens when the B becomes a BR and bases are loaded? Each runner is FORCED to advance (1-FORCE OUT). To retire a runner forced, the base to which they are forced is touched by a player in possession of the ball or that runner is tagged with the ball or glove containing the ball. (8.7.C)

The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.

Steve has supplied the only remedy available in this scenario.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote