![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The real question - Is it interference if contact occurs while a ground ball is in foul territory? And if so, what's the penalty? And if it's not, then since we haven't killed the ball, what to do if it subsequently rolls fair?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
If a runner interferes with a fielder attempting field a batted ball over foul territory, it is by definition a foul ball. The call is dead ball, foul, runner return, batter back in the box.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
However, if it the batter-runner is the offender, then we call interference. NFHS 8-2.6 The batter-runner is out if she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball. Yes, that is inconsistant. But it is that way because NFHS copied ASA verbatim (ASA 8-7.J 1 & 2, and 8-2.F). And because ASA was inconsistant before, now both rule sets rule a similiar situation differently, depending on whether the interfence is on the 3B line or the 1B line. WMB Last edited by WestMichBlue; Wed May 10, 2006 at 09:05pm. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
No, WMB NFHS does not have different rules for the first base line and third base line. A batter who hits a foul ball is not a BR and Rule 8-2-6 does not take affect untill or unless the ball becomes FAIR. A batter becomes a BR when she hits a FAIR ball, NOT a FOUL ball. In the original Sitch, the ball is in the air over fair territory (batter becomes a BR) then bounces foul (BR becomes a batter who happens to be running) and then there is contact between the players. This is nothing but a foul ball. Rule 2-25-e. A foul ball is a batted ball that: e. while over foul territory, a runner interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball; It's very simple. If a runner on either foul line interferes with a fielder attempting to field a FAIR batted ball it is interference and the runner is out and all other runners return. If a runner on either foul line interferes with a fielder attempting to field a GROUND BALL over foul territory it is a foul ball and all runners return and the batter also returns to the batter's box. So yes, the location of the ball on the field at the time of the contact does make a difference as to what you call. NKYFP FAN |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interference/obstruction vs. fair/foul | KentuckyBlue | Softball | 4 | Mon Oct 13, 2003 09:07pm |
Fair or Foul | Gre144 | Baseball | 18 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 12:20am |
Fair or Foul? | JustaFan2 | Softball | 2 | Tue Jun 17, 2003 06:52pm |
Fair or foul??? | ahouk | Baseball | 6 | Wed Jun 04, 2003 03:09pm |
fair or foul ??? | bobbrix | Softball | 4 | Wed Apr 09, 2003 10:19am |