The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 8
Double First Base situation

NYSSO/ASA

In a recent game on a bunt play F3 charged the bunt. F5 fielded the ball and threw to 1st base. On the play the F4 covering 1st base set up on the orange side. The throw came right to her as she was set up on orange. The batter runner as she approached the bag saw the fielder on the orange base and slowed down to avoid a crash. She was thrown out on the play and the official ruled that the defense can use either portion as the throw came to the orange base. The batter runner did not go to the white portion but tried to avoid the collision and slowed down.

Questions:

Can F4 set up on either portion if the ball is coming from fair territory?

(Obviously, if the throw takes her to orange, she can use that portion)

Can we have obstruction on the defense (F4)?

Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base Situation tzme415 Softball 4 Wed May 18, 2005 01:58pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1