![]() |
|
|
|||
Tie Breaker
ASA Tie Breaker Rule being used in NFHS game (Adoption in MN)
This may be an old discussion, but I am relatively new to this board, so here goes. Situation: Top of 8th, tie breaker being used, fourth batter in the order is scheduled to lead off. Coach 'misunderstands' the PU when the PU tells the coach that the 9th scheduled batter in the order should start at second base. Coach sends ninth batter in the batting order to second base to start the inning. Defense realizes immediately that the incorrect player is on second. Batter, fourth in the order, sacs the incorrect runner to third. Defense now appeals that the incorrect runner is on third. What, if any, is the penalty to the offensive team? Thanks for educating us. |
|
|||
First, in my game, I'm checking with scorekeeper (not coach) to see what the uniform number is for the player that is supposed to go to 2nd base, and telling coach, "Put number 6 on 2nd base", and then watching to make sure that #6 is, in fact, on 2nd base.
If, however, I am not doing my duty, or coach slips one past me, the only way to treat this is as a substitution (which may be legal or illegal, depending on the status and previous actions of the player that ends up being put out there, and depending on the ruleset we are using). So, not knowing any of this in your sitch, I don't think we can answer the question. But whatever your ruleset, if this happens, treat it as if #6 was actually on base after a double, and coach pulled her and put in the person he put in... if legal, great, you have a substutition. If not, treat accordingly.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
MNBLUE...
I assume this was in a tournament? I would apply the ASA POE on this as follows: Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
The runner at 2nd in ITB is in essence a simulated double. The runner at 2nd therefore batted out of order, no penalty because a pitch was thrown. That makes the proper batter whoever is #1 in the lineup, not the "fourth batter in the order ", so the fourth batter in the order is now BOO. The appeal follows the fourth batter in the order completing a TAB, so the #1 batter is out and the #2 batter is up with the runner remaining at 3rd.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=CecilOne]Why should we accept responsibility in an NFHS game because it says so in an ASA POE? It's the coach's responsibility.
QUOTE] The problem involves a cross over of codes, since for whatever reason (mostly speeding up the game), the MSHSL allows the use of the ASA ITB in weekend invitational tournaments. With no rule for the ITB in the NFHS book, the problem of how to handle irregularities arises, since we have a ASA rule being used in an NFHS game. I understand your point, but since the Fed rule book doesn't address the ITB, I think we need to fall back to the ASA book and all the interpretations that go with it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Georgia High School - Tie Breaker Rule | rharrell | Softball | 21 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 09:41pm |
International Tie-Breaker (ITB) & ASA | noobie | Softball | 1 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:53am |
International tie breaker - ejected player | D. Williams | Baseball | 10 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 10:59am |
wrong runner during tie breaker | shipwreck | Softball | 1 | Wed Oct 03, 2001 12:51pm |