![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I was trying to get a general answer for NCAA and apply the rule myself. Here are the specifics. Runners on 1st and 3rd, batted ball to SS, almost behind 2nd base. F6 fields and runs to 2nd, barely beating R2 who is upright going straight to the base. F6 then tries to throw to 1st and her hand or arm strikes R2 in the face, ball comes loose and both go down. No intent to contact by either player. To me the question comes down to if and when the retired runner has to "evaporate" or do anything to avoid the fielder. The NCAA book in the runner interference section including A.R 9.13.e; which reads like the same case implies that any prevention of the follow-up play is interference; whether the runner had time to avoid or not. Is that the actual interpretation? Is it also the NFHS interpretation? Please don't answer with HTBT. If not sure of what happened, ask.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter | wfwbb | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm |
Retired runner called out??? | blueump | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 04:48pm |
interference by retired runner | shipwreck | Softball | 15 | Thu Sep 18, 2003 07:00am |
Bratter-Runner VS Runner | whiskers_ump | Softball | 14 | Sun Apr 28, 2002 07:04pm |
runner passing another runner | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 07, 2002 11:12am |