The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Well, other than Dakota, no one is on the correct ruling.

This has nothing to do with being hit by a ball in the strike zone, hitting the ball with a foot out of the box or anything else.

Dukat was questioning the rules demanding where a batter may set up prior to the pitch. Tom has it right for ASA and I would assume most, if not all, others have the same requirement.

The inside edge of the batter's box is 6" off the plate. Since many fields do not have this defined for very long, if at all, after the game starts, it is purely the umpire's judgment as to what constitutes the batter being complete in the box prior to the umpire allowing play to continue.

If there are no lines, you will get some coaches complaining. However, you simply are not the ground crew and your judgment is the only thing that counts in this instance.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1