The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2004, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
What if....

I know we've discussed this, but I just wanted to get clarification.

Suppose the batter hits a shot to right field. He misses first base on his way to second. The right fielder comes up throwing and overthrows second. The ball goes into DBT. The runner was between 1st and 2nd at the time of the throw. The runner is standing on 2nd when Blue indicates a dead ball and awards the runner 3rd. 2nd was his first awarded base, so he would only get 3rd, correct?
At this point I believe the runner can go back to retouch 1st. Correct?

Now for a couple of scenarios.....

Suppose after awarding the runner 3rd base, the runner steps off second toward third. At this point can he return to touch first? I'd say no, because he is now beyond the first awarded base.

What if the runner is on his way to third when the coach tells him to go back to 1st? Do you tell him he can't because he is beyond the 1st awarded base? Or do you say nothing, let the runner tag up (knowing its not legal) and then let the defense still appeal and bang the runner out? And then have to explain it to the coach or the assistant coach after you've tossed the head coach for unsportmanslike conduct!

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1