The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2004, 02:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently. See Play 8.3-10.
The play itselfe is different but in the ruling it reads
Quote:
The runner may return to a missed awarded base even if the runner is standing on a base beyond the missed awarded base.
That would mean, that the runner could correct his baserunning mistakes even if he touched an awarded base. Or am I missing something?

@ hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base. If he would not be allowed to do so, it would probably a case for Rule 10-1-L.

Raoul
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2004, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by mach3
Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently.
Just a quick off-the-top answer, since I don't have time right now to check out the case play, but the rule on returning to retouch during a dead ball changed (this year, if memory serves) and it would be my guess that the case book has not caught up.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2004, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by mach3
hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base.
I agree, which is why the umpire needs to not be too quick to make the base award in this situation.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2004, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by mach3
Tom,

but in the ASA Casebook it is stated differently. See Play 8.3-10.
The play itselfe is different but in the ruling it reads
Quote:
The runner may return to a missed awarded base even if the runner is standing on a base beyond the missed awarded base.
That would mean, that the runner could correct his baserunning mistakes even if he touched an awarded base. Or am I missing something?

@ hahndwe: Yes in your last situation the runner can retouch the base. If he would not be allowed to do so, it would probably a case for Rule 10-1-L.

Raoul
I believe 8.3-10 is a different scenario. In this CP, the missed base is an awarded base, not one previously missed or left too soon prior to the award.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 13, 2004, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
What if....

I know we've discussed this, but I just wanted to get clarification.

Suppose the batter hits a shot to right field. He misses first base on his way to second. The right fielder comes up throwing and overthrows second. The ball goes into DBT. The runner was between 1st and 2nd at the time of the throw. The runner is standing on 2nd when Blue indicates a dead ball and awards the runner 3rd. 2nd was his first awarded base, so he would only get 3rd, correct?
At this point I believe the runner can go back to retouch 1st. Correct?

Now for a couple of scenarios.....

Suppose after awarding the runner 3rd base, the runner steps off second toward third. At this point can he return to touch first? I'd say no, because he is now beyond the first awarded base.

What if the runner is on his way to third when the coach tells him to go back to 1st? Do you tell him he can't because he is beyond the 1st awarded base? Or do you say nothing, let the runner tag up (knowing its not legal) and then let the defense still appeal and bang the runner out? And then have to explain it to the coach or the assistant coach after you've tossed the head coach for unsportmanslike conduct!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1