The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 01, 2004, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Hugo Tafurst2
Re: Hmmm,,,,

Quote:
Originally posted by scottk_61
(snip)
The umpires ruled:
Ball four, no swing when appealed.
Batter gets first base which forces R1 and R2 to second and third.
Then the award for the ball going out of play, which is one base.
The ruling has been upheld
We all need to apply the rulings for each award and teh situation instead of stopping at just one.
I believe the rule is 8-4-3c and d under the NFHS rules, I don't have my book handy.
It is unusual to have a dual award but it does happen on rare occasions.
I wonder how many other award rulings I have missed because I stoped at the first penalty application?

Lots of people from ASA Fed and NCAA with many many years of umpiring experience looked at this and all ruled the same thing when presented with the situation.
(snip)
My book reads something like this:

""Rule 8-4-3:.. a runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out
when:...(c)(FP) a wild pitch or passed ball lodges in or goes under, over or
thru a backstop.
PENALTY: The ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base only. The batter
is awarded first base only on the fourth ball."

Read the penalty comment under (c).

And that is the way I've always understood it...


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1